Book Review – "Professional Poker" by Mark Blade

So far I have read over 29 of the; most popular, interesting, easy, or difficult to understand books about poker and the various forms of the game. Some of these I have read at least three times or more. There is so much more to poker that it takes books, blogs, and actual doing just to get your head around the possibilities, the ideas, the strategies.

Early last year, in my quest for information on becoming a “professional poker player”, I found this book by Mark Blade, entitled “Professional Poker – The Essential Guide to Playing for a Living”. I highly recommend this book for both the beginner and the advanced player who might be considering turning professional.

I am re-reading it for a fourth time right now. I picked it up again out of my meager collection (there is so much more out there to get) and doing so could not have come at a better time. I really need to refresh my knowledge of what I need to do in order to become a “poker professional”

The amount of information and advice in the first five chapters including the “About the Author”, “Introduction”, and “Section 1” are enough to let you know what you might be up against if you want to turn pro. Section 2 talks about money issues such as your bankroll management and how much of a bankroll you need. Section 3 covers the education you need and, yes, more books that you absolutely need to read before turning pro.

The book is well written, easy to understand, and would make a good addition to your collection. If this happens to be your first book, you won’t go wrong. Mark’s recommendations for both required reading selections and optional ones will help make future book choices easier. This would also make a nice gift for someone who takes their poker seriously.

5 thoughts on “Book Review – "Professional Poker" by Mark Blade

  1. I was enjoy books like this. They provide you with the essentials, but do not go into too much strategy, which makes me fall asleep.I think this a great line, “to let you know what you might be up against if you want to turn pro.” A poker acquaintance, John Leontakianakos has told me repeatedly, that most of these guys on TV playing in tournaments do not make money playing poker. Only a handful do, and its at the cash tables.

  2. I recall what Hellmuth said before poker took off on TV. He said he was invited to a poker game at the home of someone who had his own business and was successful. That entrepreneur invited his friends who also were a success in business.When Hellmuth drove up to that house, he noticed that all the cars parked were BMW's, Mercedes, and Jags. All he was driving was a modest car. Of course, things have changed since then and now Hellmuth is a brand. I think to be a success in poker today, you need to become a brand and get backing from a company to fly you around and play wearing their logo.

  3. I was enjoy books like this. They provide you with the essentials, but do not go into too much strategy, which makes me fall asleep.I think this a great line, “to let you know what you might be up against if you want to turn pro.” A poker acquaintance, John Leontakianakos has told me repeatedly, that most of these guys on TV playing in tournaments do not make money playing poker. Only a handful do, and its at the cash tables.

  4. I recall what Hellmuth said before poker took off on TV. He said he was invited to a poker game at the home of someone who had his own business and was successful. That entrepreneur invited his friends who also were a success in business.When Hellmuth drove up to that house, he noticed that all the cars parked were BMW's, Mercedes, and Jags. All he was driving was a modest car. Of course, things have changed since then and now Hellmuth is a brand. I think to be a success in poker today, you need to become a brand and get backing from a company to fly you around and play wearing their logo.

  5. Pingback: Book Review - “Professional Poker” by Mark Blade : DadsPokerBlog

Leave a Reply

