The Poker Players Alliance (PPA) – Praise for them (and a rant as well)

Poker Players Alliance
Image via Wikipedia

The following paragraph about the PPA is from their about page and says what they are about:

The Poker Players Alliance (PPA) is a non-profit membership organization comprised of online and offline poker players. Our membership consists of enthusiasts from around the United States who have joined together to speak with one voice to promote the game and protect the right to play poker in all its forms.”

I first heard about the PPA while living in Massachusetts. Someone had posted a plea to visit their website and to join in support of their efforts to legalize online poker in the United States.  This was just before the Bush administration pushed through the Security and Accountability For Every Port Act of 2006 which contained a provision that is known as the UIGEA – Unlawful Internet Gambling Enforcement Act of 2006. And that is when the problems started.

At that time, I was playing in the free and very low limit games on Doyles Room, PokerStars and FullTiltPoker. I used a service called NetTeller to transfer money to and from these poker sites. I wondered what the effect was going to be of this new bill.  It did not take long to find out. I was notified by Doyles Room that they were no longer going to allow US players in their cash rooms, but free play was ok. When I decided to withdraw my funds, I found that I was locked out of NetTeller, my online poker banking site. Not only was I locked out, but they would not let me withdraw my balance of 93.00 that was in the account. At that time, I took a more active interest in what activities the PPA were involved with and contributed to their support. (A year later, NetTeller did release the funds back. They gave players a two week window to withdraw the funds and I did get back all my funds held by them. I was unable to get my balance back from Doyles Room however).

I joined the PPA in 2007. I read their newsletters and received their emails. In 2008, there was a call to arms due to a Massachusetts house bill that was about to be passed.   At the time, a hearing on a bill that would criminalize Internet poker gambling was being held and the PPA rallied support against this provision and wanted our voice to be heard. I participated at that rally held at the Capital building in Boston, Massachusetts on March 18, 2008. That bill and more details about it can be found here. Below is a picture taken in front of the Capital building on March 18th, 2008.  To the right, in the circle, is me without my new beard. More pictures are on flicker of the group of PPA members of the Massachusetts chapter attending the rally with PPA organizers.

ppa-at-ma me-at-ppa

The PPA is a worthy organization and needs your support to help continue the fight to legalize online Internet poker in the United States and other issues that face us in the online world. All they ask for is a donation if you are able, and some of your time when needed to attend rallies, send letters and make phone calls prior to key votes in your state or by your congressional delegation.

Now for my rant.  The PPA is a service organization and as such I do expect that they would provide good service to their members. Now I know that the problem I am having is my own fault. I somehow messed up my log-in password associated with my PPA Membership Log-in.  I made a donation, created a user name, received a welcoming email confirming my membership. This happened on December 9th, 2008 and I have not been able to log in since. I have sent at least 8 unanswered emails requesting help about my log-in problem. I have twittered to the @ppapoker account. They did respond and asked me to send an email, which I did. They still have not responded. I realize that my problem is minor, compared to what they are trying to do, but still, I feel that I should be heard and that I should be helped. It is not like I have joined for free. I contribute yearly to their cause. I send out emails as they request.  The least that they could do is help me reset my password so that I can continue to support their efforts.

Have you joined the PPA yet? You should, you know (just be sure to save your password in a safe place).  Do you have problems getting service from organizations that you are a member of? How do you get them to help you?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
5 thoughts on “The Poker Players Alliance (PPA) – Praise for them (and a rant as well)

  1. They should provide you with a new password, a reset shouldn't be that hard. You seem like an active member, especially with participating in the Rally near you. Active members like you are of great value to organizations like the PPA.Also, how is it possible you didn't get your money from Doyle's Room, it sounds like thievery to me.

  2. Pingback: Reblogging @stevebrogan, cool function from his website! | Bassw

  3. It sounds beneficial for both the online and offline poker players. Its new for me but i'll try to get the membership of PPA [ The Poker Players Alliance (PPA)]. I've already inOnline Poker that makes me a refresh through gaming.

  4. It sounds beneficial for both the online and offline poker players. Its new for me but i'll try to get the membership of PPA [ The Poker Players Alliance (PPA)]. I've already inOnline Poker that makes me a refresh through gaming.

Leave a Reply

