Recap of TPT:Stars Event #10 – Money Added!

An image of a person playing the poker varient...
Image via Wikipedia

Special thanks goes to @Panndyra of Tourney Blog who sponsored this event with a $5 bounty placed on herself and $15 added to the prize pool!

The following is a listing of the top ten finishers from last nights No Limit Hold Em Twitter Poker Tour Event.

PokerStars Tournament #145571320, No Limit Hold’em
Buy-In: $5.00/$0.50
36 players
Total Prize Pool: $180.00
Tournament started 2009/03/12 21:00:00 ET
Tournament finished 2009/03/12 23:19:49 ET
1: Steve_Treys (Fremont), $72.00 (40%)
2: ExMember (Hollywood), $43.20 (24%)
3: edihpoker (Elk Grove), $28.80 (16%)
4: Waz Poker (Carmel), $21.60 (12%)
5: ffcowboy76 (Gardner), $14.40 (8%)
6: rhoegg (Oklahoma City),
7: LaBangBang (Parker),
8: Shackedin05 (Redondo Beach),
9: taz31362 (hermitage ),
10: amuzulo (Berlin),

The tourney lasted about two hours and twenty minutes, but by the time it finished, it seemed much longer. I was exhausted. At the start of the tourney, I had mentioned to fellow twitterer  @Imanoth that I had a plan and some idea of how I was going to proceed. Some of those plans were put to rest immediately by the action at my table.

In the last few tourneys, I was not playing as well as I was capable of. Another #tpt member, @PokerVixen, pointed out some holes in my game and I knew that I had some work to do.  I reread my favorite poker books and purchased a new one (new to me), The Full Tilt Poker Strategy Guide: Tournament Edition. It also helped that I had recently enrolled in the Full Tilt Poker Academy and was working on poker tournament challenges that they supplied online.

Last night I was ready to do battle and have some fun while doing it. Because if it is not fun, don’t bother. My overall game plan was to be in the top three when I finished the tourney. By surviving up to that point, I knew that I would have a chance to finish first providing I played well and also caught cards that helped.

Within the first twenty five hands, I was down to 1,170 in chips from the starting amount of 1,500. And this was with careful playing on my part. There was very aggressive raising and reraising going on at my table. You could lose your chips quickly if you were not careful.

Overall, I was dealt 201 hands in the tourney. There were 36 players, each with 1,500 in chips to start, giving a grand total of 54,000 in chips to be gathered by the first place finisher.

I was catching good cards at the right times. I had AA once, AKo once, AQo once, AJs once, JJ once, KK twice, 99 twice, 88 once. I only caught 72 twice.

I had won three hands with flushes, 2 Ace high, 1 King high. My best hand was my last one. I had a straight flush at the river, hole cards were 7d 8d and the board was 9d Jd 7s Jh Td. My opponent had Ac Ts, giving him two pair. I rivered out, hitting one of 9 remaining diamonds to make my straight flush.

The last hand summary, unedited is as follows:

*********** # 201 **************
PokerStars Game #25901654847: Tournament #145571320, $5.00+$0.50
Hold’em No Limit – Level IX (300/600) – 2009/03/12 23:19:18 ET
Table ‘145571320 3’ 9-max Seat #9 is the button
Seat 2: ExMember (14145 in chips)
Seat 9: Steve_Treys (39855 in chips)
ExMember: posts the ante 50
Steve_Treys: posts the ante 50
Steve_Treys: posts small blind 300
ExMember: posts big blind 600
*** HOLE CARDS ***
Dealt to Steve_Treys [7d 8d]
Steve_Treys: raises 1200 to 1800
ExMember: raises 2400 to 4200
Steve_Treys: calls 2400
*** FLOP *** [9d Jd 7s]
ExMember: bets 9895 and is all-in
Steve_Treys: calls 9895
*** TURN *** [9d Jd 7s] [Jh]
*** RIVER *** [9d Jd 7s Jh] [Td]
ExMember said, “damn”
*** SHOW DOWN ***
ExMember: shows [Ac Ts] (two pair, Jacks and Tens)
Steve_Treys: shows [7d 8d] (a straight flush, Seven to Jack)
Steve_Treys collected 28290 from pot
fleapid [observer] said, “wow”
*** SUMMARY ***
Total pot 28290 | Rake 0
Board [9d Jd 7s Jh Td]
Seat 2: ExMember (big blind) showed [Ac Ts] and lost with two pair,
Jacks and Tens
Seat 9: Steve_Treys (button) (small blind) showed [7d 8d] and won
(28290) with a straight flush, Seven to Jack

All in all, I was satisfied with my playing. I felt more comfortable even under pressure. I am looking forward to the next event.

Do you have a game plan before you enter a tourney? Do you make adjustments to your play as the tourney progresses? Do you catch a hand and can’t give it up regardless of what action is occurring around you?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
4 thoughts on “Recap of TPT:Stars Event #10 – Money Added!

  1. Pingback: Recap of TPT:Stars Event #10 - Money Added! : DadsPokerBlog

  2. Pingback: Recap of TPT:Stars Event #10 - Money Added! : DadsPokerBlog

  3. I have an overall gameplan but I take it one hand at a time. I look at my hand, analyze the situation I am in and what my opponents are in, and then make a decision. If you take the game hand by hand, day by day, you will probably tend to profit more and create better situations for yourself.

  4. I have an overall gameplan but I take it one hand at a time. I look at my hand, analyze the situation I am in and what my opponents are in, and then make a decision. If you take the game hand by hand, day by day, you will probably tend to profit more and create better situations for yourself.

Leave a Reply

