No Patience – leads to a bad finish!

Flop
Image by bananeman via Flickr

Last night I finished 24th out of 25 players in the TPT: Tilt Event #11, sponsored by the TwitterPokerTour. After having two first place finishes in my previous two tourney events, this was not a good showing. This happened with my poker backer right beside me to watch my lack of patience and judgment. Good thing she is my partner for life. Diane was very supportive but probably still wondered what had happened to my previous patient playing style.

I ended up seeing just 26 hands last night. I did not wait for premium hands. My first hand was an AQ of clubs in the cutoff position and I raised an unraised pot to 90 or three times the big blind and everyone folded.

My next hands which were folded prior to taking action again were: 46 o, 4J o, 87 o, 48 s, 63 s, 72 o until I was dealt my next AQ suited.  I was on the button and called a raise of 90 and saw the flop of 9 8 7 of hearts. Not exactly helpful. I called one small bet of 30 to see the turn which was a K of clubs. I folded to a bet 450. Not even sure why I wanted to see one more card with a possible flush already out there, but I did.

My next series of hands were: Q5 s, 74 s, J4 o, J6 o, Q9 s, 67 s, 68 s, 35 o, 6T o, Q6 o, K4 o, Q6 o, 3 6 o before catching Ac Qd off suit while being in the big blind. The flop was 7 8 T of diamonds giving me a four flush Q high. I lead off with 160 and was called. A Js came off at the turn giving me both a flush and a straight draw. I bet 480 at the turn and was called. The river was a 10 making a pair of tens on the board. I checked, my opponent checked. I showed my AQ giving me a pair of 10’s and my opponent showed 96 of clubs giving him a straight Jack high for the pot. This left me with 620 in chips or enough for about 10 more rounds of play.

My next few hands were: 47 o, 35 s, 76 s, before catching a pair of 5’s. I called the blinds, and one opponent raised all-in and I called. He turned over AJ off suit to my pocket 5’s and the race was on. The flop was 4 4 A, giving him the lead. I needed a 5 to win. The turn was a 10 of clubs, no help to me. The river was a three of hearts and I was finished in 24th place about 18 minutes after the tourney had started.

AQ hands have always been problematical, and many pro players will tell you they should be folded due to all the trouble they cause you. Of course, some of these same players also call with these and lose big pots just as I did.

Have you every played AQ and wished you had not? Do you have hands you try to avoid playing regardless of position?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
2 thoughts on “No Patience – leads to a bad finish!

  1. I've overplayed AQ just like everyone else. It's a tough starting hand because it appears so pretty in the beginning, but much like QQ, JJ, 10-10, A flop can look really bad for you. Lets say you miss your flop (no Ace or Q), you're likely behind. Any made middle pair, or AK could crush you. But lets say you hit your Ace or your Q. You may think you're good when you're behind any set, KK, or AK if you hit your Ace. It's a tough play, and should be a hand treated gently, not as a monster.

  2. I've overplayed AQ just like everyone else. It's a tough starting hand because it appears so pretty in the beginning, but much like QQ, JJ, 10-10, A flop can look really bad for you. Lets say you miss your flop (no Ace or Q), you're likely behind. Any made middle pair, or AK could crush you. But lets say you hit your Ace or your Q. You may think you're good when you're behind any set, KK, or AK if you hit your Ace. It's a tough play, and should be a hand treated gently, not as a monster.

Leave a Reply

