Playing with a wild man at Limit Hold Em

Poker Texas Hold'em : Shuffling Cards On The Board
Image by brtsergio via Flickr

Last Wednesday night, I was playing poker, Limit Texas Hold ‘Em, online at a $1/2 table. I started off playing shorthanded, actually, one on one or heads up until the table attracted more players. I was more than holding my own when we were joined by a couple more players. One of the new ones, I will call JJ, was pretty aggressive, always raising, which is what you are supposed to do, except that he liked to bluff.

Now, this is Limit Hold ‘Em and bluffing does not work too well when you can look someone up, see what his hand is, for just a couple of big bets. It did not take long and he eventually lost his entire stack of chips or about $35 dollars and then he left.

There were five of us left at the table and we continued playing. There was not any chatting going on, just serious play. All of a sudden the madman, JJ, was back, at a different seating position and starting with $35 in chips again. He continued his very aggressive action similar to the last time. This time half of the hands he played were not bluffs and he started to make a profit. By the time I had called it quits for the evening, he had more than doubled up, and had a chip stack of $80.00. I left the table, $8.00 ahead and was thankful for that. It was a very interesting session. About five of the six of us had seen our profits reduced by the “madman”.

Have you ever had that happen? Had someone at the table taken over the action and you could never tell if they had a hand or were bluffing? How did you combat that or did you just leave the table?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
4 thoughts on “Playing with a wild man at Limit Hold Em

  1. Pingback: Playing with a wild man at Limit Hold Em : DadsPokerBlog

  2. Aren't those the benefits of hyperaggressive play – you can steal alot early and then get paid off when you hit a monster? I guess you have to wait until you get shortstacked and look him up before you rebuy. I tend to do what you do and stick to my plan by playing tight. In the long run, the playing better hands will mean you get into situations where you are ahead when putting your money in. The challenge it not letting emotions get involved.

  3. I have a poker buddy who does that a lot. He can't resist a call either. Problem is that he knows I play tight when he's making aggressive raises. But when I get a monster hand and play semi tight, I can usually get him to feed the pot until he is pot committed and then take it all back with interest. Patience is the best thing to do with these guys and they are very rarely in the bubble against good players.

  4. I have a poker buddy who does that a lot. He can't resist a call either. Problem is that he knows I play tight when he's making aggressive raises. But when I get a monster hand and play semi tight, I can usually get him to feed the pot until he is pot committed and then take it all back with interest. Patience is the best thing to do with these guys and they are very rarely in the bubble against good players.

Leave a Reply

