No Patience – leads to a bad finish – again!

David Sklansky
Image via Wikipedia

Congratulations to the top three finishers of the #TPT tourney.
1: taz31362
2: MNFulltilt
3: MrMxyzpltk

Last night I finished 4th out of 33 players in the TPT: Tilt Event #12, sponsored by the TwitterPokerTour. While this was better than my next to last place finish in the prior #TPT tourney, I still played poorly at the end of the game when it mattered.

The worse part of it was that I was prepared. I had just finished reading 60 pages of  “Tournament Poker for Advanced Players (Advance Players)” by David Sklansky. I had read it before but thought it would help me for the tourney. In fact it did, up until I got careless and got involved in a hand that I should not have played let alone lose half of my chips with. Sklansky states that when you have a good chip lead you should only play hands with a better than average chance of winning. Even hands with a positive EV (expected value) should be folded during a tourney as compared to a cash game. I should never have allowed myself to get involved with such a weak hand against a short stacked player. Hopefully third time is a charm with next weeks #TPT on Stars.

The following hand replay, or what @Grundy calls a cardicle, will show you what I did and what the results were of the hand that I played:

Hand Information
Game: No Limit
Room: Full Tilt Poker – Get $600 Free
Blind: $400 / $800
Table Information
Seat 2: Player 2 ($5,596) Big Blind
Seat 6: Player 6 ($18,845)
Seat 8: Hero ($12,848) Dealer
Seat 9: Player 9 ($12,211) Small Blind
Seat 2: Player 2 Ante $100
Seat 6: Player 6 Ante $100
Seat 8: Hero Ante $100
Seat 9: Player 9 Ante $100
Dealt to Hero
Preflop (Pot:1,600)
FOLD Player 6
RAISE Hero $3,200
FOLD Player 9
ALL-IN Player 2 $4,696
CALL Hero $2,296
Flop (Pot: $12,392)
Turn (Pot: $12,392)
River (Pot: $12,392)
ShowDown:
SHOWS   Player 2
SHOWS   Hero
Player 2 win the pot: $12,392

Have you ever played well enough to make it past the bubble and into the money then change directions? What is your final table strategy?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
4 thoughts on “No Patience – leads to a bad finish – again!

  1. It just depends on what your goal is. If your goal is to win the tournament, the bubble is a time to identify which people are playing to cash and take advantage of them. If your goal is to cash, tighten up against players who can hurt you. Of course, in most cases, you should be playing to win, not just cash, but that's a pretty broad statement. Sometimes, it's just important to cash.

  2. I get aggressive at the end, not sure why… So I am probably the wrong person to ask.But I think with the TPT, you don't need to win an event in order to take the overall crown. If you hit a number of bubbles, I think that is a guarantee.

  3. It just depends on what your goal is. If your goal is to win the tournament, the bubble is a time to identify which people are playing to cash and take advantage of them. If your goal is to cash, tighten up against players who can hurt you. Of course, in most cases, you should be playing to win, not just cash, but that's a pretty broad statement. Sometimes, it's just important to cash.

  4. I get aggressive at the end, not sure why… So I am probably the wrong person to ask.But I think with the TPT, you don't need to win an event in order to take the overall crown. If you hit a number of bubbles, I think that is a guarantee.

Leave a Reply

