I Finished 400th at PokerStars Tournament #200904091, Limit Triple Draw 2-7 Lowball

DSC_8648
Image by aboutmattlaw via Flickr

The Limit Triple Draw 2-7 Lowball tourney started at 2:30 pm EDT with 1801 players. Each player was given 5,000 in chips to start. This was my first ever 2-7 Lowball tourney and while I had high hopes, the fact is that I had only been playing this game for less than three months.

My preparation for this tourney included playing at the low stakes 2-7 Triple Draw games at PokerStars and reading “Chapter 11, Triple Draw”, written by Daniel Negreanu, @RealKidPoker, for the book, “Doyle Brunson’s Super System 2: A Course in Power Poker“, written by Doyle Brunson.

Having played a few tourneys in other games such as Hold ‘Em, Omaha, 7 Card Stud, I had a general idea of what my approach should be. I should basically play only in hands that showed an extremely high chance of winning and try to avoid those hands that were not as good. That was easier said than done. The top 330 players got paid with the top finisher receiving over $5,600. My game summary is as follows:

You finished in 400th place (eliminated at hand #26802142931).
212 hands played:
– cards drawn 68 times (32%)
– won when drawing 20 times (29%)
Pots won at showdown – 21 out of 48 (44%)
Pots won without showdown – 16

But the summary did not tell the whole story. It was a roller coaster ride and while playing the tourney, I had twittered about my standings at different times during the game. These were some of my tweets. The times were approximated.

2:25pm @sebastianrocks What level? I am at the low level as I am just learning @rawstar turned me on to this.

3:00pm @realkidpoker – Your tips on 2-7 low ball are helping me stay alive in the 2-7 low entry SCOOP – thanks. And good luck to you as well.

4:25pm @RealKidPoker You’re still in the 2-7 and I am in 7th place thanks to your tips in Super System 2 on low ball. Thank you Daniel, Sir.

4:30pm I have gone from 7th to 151st place. Still enough time to make up ground – if I grind it out.

5:35pm @sebastianrocks Thanks. I seem to be chipping down. I am now 452 of the remaining 702. But there is still time.

5:40pm @sebastianrocks Thanks. I seem to be chipping up. I am now 172 of the remaining 483. There is still time. The bubble is 331. 330 get paid.

5:45pm @sebastianrocks Thanks. I feel like I am on a roller coaster. I busted in 400 place. Oh well. There is next year!.

Was I happy with my results? Not really. But as this was my first lowball tourney and I really had no idea of what to do in a lowball tourney for optimum playing, I did better than expected. After all, 1,401 other players had finished before I did. I have added 2-7 Triple Draw Lowball to my list of favorite games.

Have you ever played in a tourney event not knowing the game as well as you would like? How was your experience? Would you play that same game again? How do you go about learning new games?

———

As a side note, while I was playing the $22 buy-in Lowball tourney, Kid Poker was playing in the $2,100 buy-in Lowball tourney. He finished in 12th place, just three places shy of the bubble. To his credit, he battled from almost last place to finish in the top 12. There were 90 players entered at that level, with the top finisher winning $60,000. Maybe with practice, I will see him at the table next year. LOL.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

