Day 4 of the race to $250 and other thoughts

An image of a person playing the poker varient...
Image via Wikipedia@sebastianrocks, twitter name of rock music star, Patrick Sebastian, laid down a challenge to us to see which one of us could take a $10 bankroll and increase it to $250 first.  To see the details of the challenge and current details of our progress, go to www.patricksebastian.wordpress.com.

@sebastianrocks, twitter name of rock music star, Patrick Sebastian, laid down a challenge to us to see which one of us could take a $10 bankroll and increase it to $250 first.  To see the details of the challenge and current details of our progress, go to www.patricksebastian.wordpress.com. At this point in time there are nine of us that  have entered the race. I have finally stopped the downward spiral and have gained some ground over my original starting $10.00. I am now at $18.79. As soon as I reach the $20.00 mark I can start to play in SnG of $2.00 entry fess instead of the $1.00 I am currently playing.

I have learned or perhaps relearned that I need to get some more self control at the table. I have been called a TAG or “tight and aggressive” player by some of my poker friends but now I may have strayed too far into the LAG or loose and aggressive behavior.

There were at least two tourneys tonight out of the last three that I played that I could and should have done better. In one case I could not let go of my AK and ended up losing almost 2/3 of my stack to a player who had KK. He even commented that he knew I was going to raise so he just waited for me to do “my thing”.  Worse than being a TAG or a LAG is being predictable. He had my number.  Hopefully I will remember his.  In one other tourney I tried to ram my AQ to get the pot but was called by two players who both had AK.  They rightfully took 90% of my stack and divided it amongst themselves.

Do your opponents know you? Do they know what you have by how you play or how you raise or call or check a hand? Are you too predictable?  How do you vary your play?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
4 thoughts on “Day 4 of the race to $250 and other thoughts

Leave a Reply

