Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery

stealing on flickr continues...
Image by lovelypetal via Flickr

The following quote “Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery” was attributed to author Charles Caleb Colton, Lacon, volume I, no. 183, (1780 – 1832).

While I was working on posting my blog late yesterday I noticed that my blog had a “pingback” which usually means that some other blog site liked my post and re-posted my blog with links back to here. So I decided to check it out and I was glad that I did.

A blog with the banner “Online Poker Blog” was coping my blog and links and images and was paraphrasing what I said to make it seem different. I had never seen anything so strange and so wrong at the same time.

While they had copied many of my blogs, I will use the one I titled “BUILDING BACK CONFIDENCE AT THE TOURNEYS” as my example.

My opening paragraph was as follows:

A while back I wrote a post about losing confidence at the tables during a large tourney and how that had affected my playing.  In order to overcome that feeling, I have played in three Sit N Go’s with at least 27 people. I was able to win fourth place in one while not making the payouts in the other two. I felt a little more comfortable as a result. (See my entire post by clicking this link).

Their opening paragraph was as follows:

A whilst behind we wrote a post about losing certainty during a tables during a vast tourney as well as how which had influenced my playing.  In sequence to strike which feeling, we have played in 3 Sit N Go’s with during slightest twenty-seven people. we was means to win fourth place in a single whilst not creation a payouts in a alternative two. we felt a small some-more gentle as a result. (See the entire post by clicking this link).

My theory is that this site uses an automated translator or a poorly trained person to make the post seem different. However, I think that the end result is strange or bizarro as the follow sentence would indicate.

Mine:  @sebastianrocks, twitter name of rock music star, Patrick Sebastian, laid down a challenge to us to see which one of us could take a $10 bankroll and increase it to $250 first.

Theirs: @sebastianrocks, chatter name of stone song star, Patrick Sebastian, laid down a plea to us to see which a single of us could take a $10 stake as great as enlarge it to $250 first.

I wonder what the author Richard Lederer, father of Annie Duke, would think of this “anguished English”?

Has this ever happened to you? Have you had your ideas and thoughts stolen or plagiarized? How did that make you feel? Were you flattered or angry?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

