Additional thoughts on Poker and the #Race to 250 summarized.

High Stakes Poker Explained?
Image by xrrr via Flickr

It has been 16 days since the May 4th challenge issued by @sebastianrocks, twitter name of rock music star, Patrick Sebastian, to see which one of us could take a $10 bankroll and increase it to $250 first.  To see the details of the challenge and current details of our progress, go to www.patricksebastian.wordpress.com. Ten have responded to his invitation.

Part of the rules required us to play in games that involved no more then 10% of our current bankroll. We each started out by recording a starting amount of $10.00 and kept track of our results. If we went below $3.00 we could rebuy by adding an another $10, but if we did, then we needed to increase our goal by that same amount.

My results thus far stand at $31.50 or an increase of over $21.50 from my starting amount. As good as this might seem, I was actually at $46.44 before playing a few cash games with blinds of .02/.05 on the No Limit tables. My No Limit cash game needs a lot of work.

My best games are usually Limit Hold Em but my current bankroll does not allow me to play those games. I would need about a $50.00 bankroll before I could play the type of game that I am most comfortable with.  My point is that the challenge is taking me out of my comfort zone and that is a good thing. It means that I need to learn and grow as a player.

Thankfully, I now have added a new tool to my belt, the training website, Deuces Cracked. I intend to become a very good or a great No Limit Cash game player and the training videos and posts should help. I will let you how that goes.

Have you ever played games that you were not as good at or were uncomfortable playing? How did you overcome your issues with the game?  What tools do you have in your poker playing tool kit? Or are you just a natural player?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
2 thoughts on “Additional thoughts on Poker and the #Race to 250 summarized.

  1. Pingback: Additional thoughts on Poker and the #Race to 250 summarized …

  2. Pingback: Additional thoughts on Poker and the #Race to 250 summarized …

Leave a Reply

