Thoughts on Limit Poker play

Example of position in texas holdem
Image via Wikipedia

So far, of all the different games of poker that I play regularly, the form that I had the best results with is Limit poker. I think the reason I prefer Limit is the fact that I have a reasonable understanding of how to  play successfully.

There is still a lot about limit that I have to learn. Such as when I am being re-raised, I might be beaten. In limit, there is less bluffing than there is in pot limit and no limit. More hands are played right to a showdown. This is because you can only raise the pot by one bet even with the best of hands. And a one bet raise can usually give your opponent the right pot odds to call your raise, while hoping they either have the best hand or make it at the river or the turn.

That is not to say there is no bluffing. Currently, when I am going to  be involved in a hand, I will come into the pot with a raise and I am usually going to re-raise and cap the betting if I am re-raised. This more aggressive style does let me win more large pots when I hit my cards and will sometimes allow me go win the pot uncontested.

Occasionally, I run into the type of player that calls all of my bets even though they have the best hand and they win the showdown. I had been dealt pocket nines and bet out pre-flop and was called by one player. The flop was a rainbow flop, no high cards, no pairs, no straight possibilities.  I bet out and was called. The flop did not appear to help my opponent and I bet out and was called. On the river, the same thing happened. I bet out and was called. At showdown, my opponent showed a pair of pocket Kings. I mucked my hand without showing him my pocket Nines. My opponent might have been able to win extra bets but was happy to take what I give him by my betting.  One element of limit that I have not used much is the check-call, check-raise or check-fold.

Do you play limit games? Does your starting range of cards matter? Does position matter as well?  How to you play limit games?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
5 thoughts on “Thoughts on Limit Poker play

  1. I play a fair bit of limit cash games. Position is everything. Cards are important and understanding your opponents range of hands in their position and betting patterns with those cards are vital. Unlike NL, you really need to pay attention to the possibilities of the board. Slow playing pocket aces in limit is just horrifically stupid. Once the flop is turned, aces that don't improve are quite often just top pair. Now what do you do? I'm on the button calling or even raising with any two cards. I may have just hit a straight, flush or two pair. You are behind, cap if you want, but when the straight is the nuts, you've got a long way to go to pull ahead with only a pair of aces.

    • Thanks for your comments. I agree with your comments. In Limit Hold 'EM, straight forward play is the best policy 99% of the time. And paying attention to the board is important. Some hands are hard to put down however. I had pocket nines and the flop was 9 2 Q rainbow, giving me trips. I had already 3-bet it pre-flop and jammed it after the flop. The river was a five. I lead out and was raised, This time I just called. On the river a seven. This time I checked and just called the raise. Showdown, my trip nines, my opponent, trip queens. It is hard to put down trips. But you need to be open to the possibility that you are beaten.

  2. Thanks for your comments. I agree with your comments. In Limit Hold 'EM, straight forward play is the best policy 99% of the time. And paying attention to the board is important. Some hands are hard to put down however. I had pocket nines and the flop was 9 2 Q rainbow, giving me trips. I had already 3-bet it pre-flop and jammed it after the flop. The river was a five. I lead out and was raised, This time I just called. On the river a seven. This time I checked and just called the raise. Showdown, my trip nines, my opponent, trip queens. It is hard to put down trips. But you need to be open to the possibility that you are beaten.

  3. Pingback: Thoughts on Limit Poker play : DadsPokerBlog

  4. Pingback: Thoughts on Limit Poker play

Leave a Reply

