Running good at the cash games and tourneys first 5 days in July

Noble chess players, Germany, c.
Image via Wikipedia

I play Limit Hold ‘Em at the cash tables and mostly No Limit Hold ‘Em poker at the tourneys online at various sites. As I have reported in prior posts, I had a bad June, ending up in the red for the month. I started working to turn around this trend by going back to some of my favorite poker books as well as ones I had not yet read. Thus far, the results are promising.

My results are not site specific in that I play multiple sites and in June, I was losing on multiple sites in my cash game play.  Playing on these same sites in July, I have been winning overall.  It appears that playing poker well takes constant efforts to learn and improve. You have to think about your game and how you play each hand.

I find that poker is similar to chess in someways. There are aspects of the game that are mental. It is how you play against certain opponents regardless of your cards. This is more true in No Limit than in Limit. There is plenty about the game for me to learn and improve and I am enjoying the challenge.

How do you feel about learning poker from reading? Are you a natural player and have not had to learn except from playing at the tables? How do you work to improve your game?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
3 thoughts on “Running good at the cash games and tourneys first 5 days in July

  1. Pingback: Running good at the cash games and tourneys first 5 days in July …

  2. Pingback: Running good at the cash games and tourneys first 5 days in July …

  3. Loved to read your blog. I would like to suggest you that traffic show most people read blogs on Mondays. So it should encourage bloggers to write new write ups over the weekend primarily.regardscharcoal grill

Leave a Reply

