Can't we all just get along?

apparently the "quiet zone" is not a...
Image by marymuses via Flickr

I play a lot of cash and sit and go’s and tourneys and I am seeing a trend that is starting to get quite annoying and downright disrespectful. That is the practice of criticizing the playing of other player’s. It is starting to affect other people not directly involved in the hands in question. Some of these people were regular players at games that I frequent.

Now I am not seeing some of these players at any of the games that I frequent. I am sure that I can attribute their unwillingness to play in a hostile atmosphere. And this is a shame as it spoils it for all of us who love the game of poker.

There is no need to call a person that stays in a hand for a two outer a donk or any other name for that matter. We need all types of players to fill up the table in order for the rest of us to play.  We don’t need to make somone feel uncomfortable in order to make our bad luck be their fault.

I am sorry to say that I may have been part of this problem because I did not say anything or do anything to stop it. It is one thing to have some friendly banter, it is another to belittle someone else. I vow from now on to try and change what is going on at the tables. Perhaps  I can do that using a gentle reminder that we have a game going or let us watch the banter. Let’s tone it down. Perhaps I will have to DM someone in order to voice my concerns. Whatever it takes.

What do you do to promote a friendly game? How do you  promote a postive attitude at the table? Or do you just stop playing there?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
7 thoughts on “Can't we all just get along?

  1. I see this happening everywhere from live to online. It doesn't matter where it is, a lot of people can't help but to be offensive to other players, especially when they're on the wrong side of a bad beat. What I hate the most is when people who aren't even in the hand criticize the play of others. Why can't they just shut up about it, right? Let the donkey think he made a good call, or a good move, whatever… but don't school him. Don't insult him.

    • Of course you will appreciate some irony. I was accused of chasing a flush draw by an another player. It was true, I did chase. But I had the excuse of min beating right up thru the river when I finally made my nut flush. Had my opponent raised me, I would have folded in an instant as this was No Limit I would no longer have had the odds to call. In the process, of criticizing me, I went back to my poker books and realize that the person was right. I have improved my play (I still donk from time to time) but now I know more. Had the person just said “Nice Hand”, I would have aimlessly gone on playing and chasing and thinking that I was doing a great job. Now, when I donk, I know I was lucky instead of skillful.

  2. I see this happening everywhere from live to online. It doesn't matter where it is, a lot of people can't help but to be offensive to other players, especially when they're on the wrong side of a bad beat. What I hate the most is when people who aren't even in the hand criticize the play of others. Why can't they just shut up about it, right? Let the donkey think he made a good call, or a good move, whatever… but don't school him. Don't insult him.

  3. Of course you will appreciate some irony. I was accused of chasing a flush draw by an another player. It was true, I did chase. But I had the excuse of min beating right up thru the river when I finally made my nut flush. Had my opponent raised me, I would have folded in an instant as this was No Limit I would no longer have had the odds to call. In the process, of criticizing me, I went back to my poker books and realize that the person was right. I have improved my play (I still donk from time to time) but now I know more. Had the person just said “Nice Hand”, I would have aimlessly gone on playing and chasing and thinking that I was doing a great job. Now, when I donk, I know I was lucky instead of skillful.

  4. I love donks. I never name call and I never bitch and moan about suck outs. I want those players sticking around as long as possible making the bad plays that they are making 🙂

Leave a Reply

