Without cards – poker skills may not be enough

Poker
Image by Lewis Walsh via Flickr

Knowing how to raise, check-raise, value bet, continuation bet, all in raise may not be enough if you don’t catch cards to back up your play.

Last night I played “No Limit Hold ‘Em on the Twitter Poker Tour played on Full Tilt poker. I was a late registrant arriving at the table about three minutes after the tourney had started. Already one person had busted out having his Kings beaten by Aces in just the second hand dealt to him.

My first hand was AQ off-suit in the big blind.  There were three callers and I checked. The flop was 5 7 8, two spades and a heart. I checked, there was a small raise of 30 so three of us called. I am not sure why I did, having really missed the flop. The turn card was  9 of hearts, giving two spades and two hearts on the board with a straight draw as well. I folded to a pot size bet. There was one caller and two people saw the river which was a Jack of hearts. They both checked. One made a nine high straight while the other won with a flush, Jack high.

And so the evening went. My highest pocket pair were 10’s, folded pre-flop to a 6BB raise. I had AK three times, raised with two of them and limped in with one. All of the flops seen were small cards and I folded to large raises before the turn.  Most of the rest of my pocket pairs were folded pre-flop due to aggressive raising prior to my turn. My final play was an all-in bet with pocket fours when I was short-stacked, less than 10 times the big blind in chips. I was called by someone with QJ unsuited and he ended up with a straight on the river to bust me out in 22nd place after two plus hours of playing.

While I was not pleased with the results, I was satisfied with how I played. Skills aside, you do need some luck in the form of either good cards or great flops.

What do you do when you don’t catch premium cards? How does  that affect your game? Or do you try to force the action?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
5 thoughts on “Without cards – poker skills may not be enough

  1. I think, I never check AQ from the BB with 3 limpers. Let's say the blinds were like 10/20 or something since it was the first hand in the tourney… so there's 10 in the pot from the SB, 20 in the pot from you the BB, then 20×3 from the limpers.. so the pot is like, 90 (100 if SB completes)… you should be raising like, 3xBB + 1BB for every limper. Maybe even 4X since you are in bad (early) position after the flop comes. So if the blinds were 10/20 you would be raising like, 60 (3xBB) + 20 + 20 + 20 (one BB for each limper)… so you would be raising to 120-150ish. Then chances are most people fold, flop comes 578, probably Cbet and watch them fold. Maybe that's a bad flop to Cbet though, so, it's tough to say. Checking seems like a bad idea too. I think a Cbet will probably take it down on the flop as you can represent an overpair well. As played preflop, just fold flop. I don't really play tournaments, so keep that in mind 😛

      • Thank you for your comments and ideas about punishing the limpers. At the least, I could have maybe won some chips that would be useful when I cannot win a show down. I don't always raise in the BB and that is a mistake that I am making, that I can correct,

  2. Thank you for your comments and ideas about punishing the limpers. At the least, I could have maybe won some chips that would be useful when I cannot win a show down. I don't always raise in the BB and that is a mistake that I am making, that I can correct,

  3. Pingback: The TPT Season 4 Finale was a blast - 18 players were invited to play : DadsPokerBlog

Leave a Reply

