Nine SnG's at UB –

Poker After Dark
Image by supersolice via Flickr

Yesterday, I spent most of my down time playing on UltimateBet and watching “Poker after Dark” with my wife, Diane. On “PAD”, they had three young Internet players and Doyle Brunson, Gabe Kaplan and Eli Elezra at the table. We watched over five episodes while I played nine SnG’s.

My UB account was low on funds, not having made a deposit in a while and having lost most of my funds playing No Limit Hold ‘Em cash games that I am not good at. Strangely, I do reasonably well playing No Limit Hold ‘Em Sit n Go’s. I had only 40 cents left and could only play in the .25 Sit N Go’s, which is what I did. I played in nine games overall and the following are my results:

2: STEVIE_TREYS, payout $0.45
1: STEVIE_TREYS, payout $1.12
3: STEVIE_TREYS, payout $0.45
9: STEVIE_TREYS, payout $0.00
6: STEVIE_TREYS, payout $0.00
2: STEVIE_TREYS, payout $0.67
2: STEVIE_TREYS, payout $0.67
6: STEVIE_TREYS, payout $0.00
2: STEVIE_TREYS, payout $0.67

I had cashed in 6 of the nine games. I played tight for the most part, making an occasional bluff in position. I was able to build my account balance up to almost $2.00. When I hit $5.00, I will play in the .50c SnG’s. Instead of making a deposit, I intend to grow my account at UB and other sites as well.

I was doing this while watching the “Poker After Dark” players place a “live straddle bet” and also making prop bets while their game was going.  One of the prop bets was if any player won a hand with a 72, everyone else would pay that player $1,000, even if they were not in the hand and had folded pre-flop. In one hand, we saw Eli Elezra open and eventually raise the pot to almost $20,000 in an attempt to win an extra $5,000 while having a 72. That attempt failed as one of the players had a hand good enough that he was not folding to Eli’s attempt to steal. That was a very costly way to play 72. Wow! Three previous 72 steal attempts were successful before Eli’s hand.

I found it interesting to see what the pros do versus what they say to do in their books and blogs. But in their case, they have the experience and the money to back up their play.

Do you ever watch the pros play and wonder why they do what they do? You know the appropriate strategy, but see them play differently than they say you should? When you try what they do, what are your results?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
4 thoughts on “Nine SnG's at UB –

  1. Hi Steve, On the one hand, SnG really differs from cash (as you point in your next article), and giving yourself just 10BI for the next level would be a little to risky, right? Is it Single Table SnG (cashing the last 3 players), isnt it?.Thought it should be minimum 20$ to move in, but it's your game anyways ^^ 😉 The first level is the toughest to move out because it's longer since you start with nothing, and you're going to move as soon as possible, wich can lead to mistake (f.ex.: the second level in PS is 1.2$ I'm in my minimum and I can move but I want to have 20BI over the minimum to play relaxed.. but I had mistakes cause I wanted to move… be careful with that )This a good bankroll strategy check it if you want: http://www.pocketfives.com/jennifear/bankroll-m… (very conservative, minimum is 1/3 of this and 2/3 is semi which is nice)You just said the rule to success in microland sngs!! being tight early-middle and the occasional bluff in position (you aimed pretty nice there 😉 ) On the other hand, pros are pros if their stack can afford risk like those they'll do. They're uber aggresive to keep control of the table and they get benefits from their aggresive image, you know. When I try what they do? Whenever I see I can take control of the table I'll do, If not I'll use my image to do it (what they do) and benefit myself at the middle-late phase of the tourney :DHope you understand it all, large comment in English I'm sure I have a lot of typos and mistakes. Imanoth 😉

    • I tend to look at my bankroll as the total that I have available and set aside to play poker. That total is the combined amount that I have deposited on all sites as well as what I have in a savings account set aside as my poker bankroll. So overall, I do stay within the guidelines that are suggested. It is just that on one site, I might not have enough to play at a certain level even though my overall bankroll is sufficient to support my playing, Your points are well made and well taken. I thank you for your comments and the helpful link.

  2. Hi Steve, On the one hand, SnG really differs from cash (as you point in your next article), and giving yourself just 10BI for the next level would be a little to risky, right? Is it Single Table SnG (cashing the last 3 players), isnt it?.Thought it should be minimum 20$ to move in, but it's your game anyways ^^ 😉 The first level is the toughest to move out because it's longer since you start with nothing, and you're going to move as soon as possible, wich can lead to mistake (f.ex.: the second level in PS is 1.2$ I'm in my minimum and I can move but I want to have 20BI over the minimum to play relaxed.. but I had mistakes cause I wanted to move… be careful with that )This a good bankroll strategy check it if you want: http://www.pocketfives.com/jennifear/bankroll-m… (very conservative, minimum is 1/3 of this and 2/3 is semi which is nice)You just said the rule to success in microland sngs!! being tight early-middle and the occasional bluff in position (you aimed pretty nice there 😉 ) On the other hand, pros are pros if their stack can afford risk like those they'll do. They're uber aggresive to keep control of the table and they get benefits from their aggresive image, you know. When I try what they do? Whenever I see I can take control of the table I'll do, If not I'll use my image to do it (what they do) and benefit myself at the middle-late phase of the tourney :DHope you understand it all, large comment in English I'm sure I have a lot of typos and mistakes. Imanoth 😉

  3. I tend to look at my bankroll as the total that I have available and set aside to play poker. That total is the combined amount that I have deposited on all sites as well as what I have in a savings account set aside as my poker bankroll. So overall, I do stay within the guidelines that are suggested. It is just that on one site, I might not have enough to play at a certain level even though my overall bankroll is sufficient to support my playing, Your points are well made and well taken. I thank you for your comments and the helpful link.

Leave a Reply

