Thursday's adventure results

Online Poker
Image by T.R.G. via Flickr

Yesterday, I played in both of the Twitter Poker Tour events held on FullTiltPoker. While I considered my play adequate, I was unable to finish in the top three of either event.

In the Twitter Poker Tour – Europe held at 7pm GMT, 2pm ET, I finished 6th out of 8 and 14 out of 24 in the 9pm ET tourney. My better hands did not hold up. In one hand I lost 2/3 of my stack holding pocket eights. The flop was 2 4 2, I bet and was called. The turn was another 2, giving me a full house. My opponent went all in and I called. He was holding a 2 5 giving him four of a kind, quad 2’s. I was never really able to recover after that loss, winning very few pots. My pocket Aces were always folded to pre-flop when I was in the blinds.

To make matters even worse, my Internet connection kept dropping for seconds at a time. In one hand that I was in, I had pocket tens and would have played the hand aggressively but my connection timed out and my hand was automatically folded. The two remaining players in the hand went all-in and each had the same hand, a K 4 with the flop having a king, giving them each a pair and splitting the pot. There was also a ten on the flop which would have given me three of a kind and I would have won most of the chips from the two other opponents. Oh well, thank you very much Internet Provider!

I played in four Sit N Go’s as well yesterday. One I played in between the two tourneys, and won it in first place.While not an easy game, I had gone from third place to last and ended up playing heads up with my opponent being the chip leader who had about 10,000 in chips to my 5,000. The heads up play lasted almost 30 minutes and the lead changed at least four times between us.It was a fast paced vicious exciting battle. Using the 1900 chips I had left, I played  fast and aggressive. I won the Sit N Go with all of the chips at the finish. The play was rapid fire at the end with plenty of raises, re-raises, folds and finally a game ending all-in confrontation.

After the last TPT event, I played in three “Double or Nothing” Sit N Go’s and won two out of three of those as well. So timing is everything and I was not destined to finish high the TPT events yesterday.

Do you plan to win each time you play in a tourney? Do you have a goal in mind prior to game time? Does visualizing your goal help you achieve the results you are looking for?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
3 thoughts on “Thursday's adventure results

  1. I like the last paragraph of this post a lot Steve. I have to say, that I do goal set when I play poker, both cash and tournaments.In ring games, my goal is either to play a certain amount of time, or to double my buy in and walk. I want to set those limits so that I don't spend too long at the table, and that I don't lose too much. And I figure that doubling my investment is sound. I will probably bag the cash, and then sit back down with half as much, and effectively play with my winnings for the remaining time.In tourney's, my 1st goal is to finish in the money. To do this, I simply calculate what the average chip stack will be at the bubble. For example, in a 27 player S&G where there are 5 places paid and 1500 starting chips, I want to get to 8100 chips. My goal is to focus on getting to that number, and then I tighten up. Once the bubble is reached, I then focus on winning the event. In large MTT's, I create a 2nd goal after I reach the 1st one of being average stacked for a final table. In the end, my goal is always to finish with all of the chips, but I think that you have to start out smaller. Especially at the early stages, you have to remember that while you won't be able to win the tournament on a single hand, you can sure lose it.

    • I have generalized goals myself but I like the work you have put into it. The numbers you use shows advanced thinking about your game. I have not been that specific. I usually try to be in the top 1/3 or 1/4 of in position and chips and like to move up to the top 10 percent towards the end of the tourney. If I get chipped down, which does happen from time to time as you are very well aware, I still try not to give up. But it is poker and bad beats or bad timing a true bad beat is sometimes defined as having quad eights beaten by a better hand. As always, thank you for your insightful comments.

  2. I have generalized goals myself but I like the work you have put into it. The numbers you use shows advanced thinking about your game. I have not been that specific. I usually try to be in the top 1/3 or 1/4 of in position and chips and like to move up to the top 10 percent towards the end of the tourney. If I get chipped down, which does happen from time to time as you are very well aware, I still try not to give up. But it is poker and bad beats or bad timing a true bad beat is sometimes defined as having quad eights beaten by a better hand. As always, thank you for your insightful comments.

Leave a Reply

