What a difference a day can make…

DoylesRoom.
Image via Wikipedia

In my last few posts, I have shared that I have been doing better in small MTT – multiple table  tourneys – and some Sit N Go’s as opposed to my cash game play.  It has been a little disappointing to me as I consider myself to be a fair to good cash game Limit Hold ‘Em player.

Of late I have been playing most of my cash games at DoylesRoom. This is a site I used to like years ago and now that they are part of Cake Poker, they seem to offer reasonable games and tourneys. I am back playing on their site. My only complaint is that there are not a lot of players there at times, so there are wait times to get on a table unless you are willing to start one up. I will start a table when I notice that there are long wait lists. Once I do, the others waiting to play will usually join me. A side benefit to starting tables is that it has helped me improve my short handed playing skills while waiting for the table to fill up.

Based on my readings and videos watched, I have a good understanding of the way the game should be played. I think that my recent lack of good results has been that I am now playing more experienced players. I just moved from the .25/.50 tables to the .50/1.00 and did not expect to have much trouble in doing so. But I was wrong.

I initially failed to see how these new opponents were playing? What their tendencies were? What hands they would play to the end, good or bad. It takes some time to figure this out and sometimes the information I got was wrong because some of the players varied their play so I was never quite sure what they had.

Prior to last night I used to be fairly tight, mostly calling if I was not in the big or small blind and hoping to see the flop for a cheap price before deciding what I would do next.  Last night it all clicked for me.  I would come into the pot with a good hand or good draw with a raise. This helped to drive out the tighter players. If I hit my flop or the flop looked like it did not hit my opponents, I would either put in a continuation raise or check with the intention of check-raising my opponents. The ones I have been playing against are very aggressive and my checking would be a sign of weakness so at least one of them would be out to see if they could steal the pot.

In any case, I was running well last night and played in over 30 percent of the hands I was dealt. My starting stack was $20 and I left the table with $70 for a gain of $50 for about two hours of playing. That is an hourly rate I could live with. As I am playing the same people a good percentage of the time, I expect that they will make adjustments to me and I will do the same.

Do you know all your players at the ring games you play? Do you take the time to record the type of hands they will play? Does this help your results?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
4 thoughts on “What a difference a day can make…

  1. Sick win Stevie! Maybe limit is your game man. Keep up the good work. As for your questions, I'm always taking notes on players at the tables so I can figure out what they are thinking and the type of player they are. “limps in SB when folded around to him with AJo”, “3bets junk”, “calls 3bet with junk”, “limped aces when 4 people limped in before him”, “stacks off with pocket 6's preflop after a raise”, “stacks off with AQo”, “shovey”, “check raising many flops”, “floating alot”, “donk”, “aggro”, “super fish”, “strange bet sizing preflop”, “chaser”, “bad player, bet for VALUE”, “decent player” are many of the notes I commonly put on players. And yeah I would say those notes definitely help results. Especially for post flop play….. but also in preflop all in situations, it helps to know who is stacking off with what. Like I said, I'm really happy for you Steve. Congrats and hopefully you keep running well. If you don't, don't take it too hard either :D. See ya for now

    • Jack, thanks for your comments about the note taking aspect of the game. I think over time, it is helpful but I have also noticed that sometimes one of these players act differently at night as opposed to the morning or afternoon. Either their meds had not kicked him or perhaps more than one person share a user name and login. Possible college students? Maybe they have MPPD – multiple poker personality disorder?

  2. Sick win Stevie! Maybe limit is your game man. Keep up the good work. As for your questions, I'm always taking notes on players at the tables so I can figure out what they are thinking and the type of player they are. “limps in SB when folded around to him with AJo”, “3bets junk”, “calls 3bet with junk”, “limped aces when 4 people limped in before him”, “stacks off with pocket 6's preflop after a raise”, “stacks off with AQo”, “shovey”, “check raising many flops”, “floating alot”, “donk”, “aggro”, “super fish”, “strange bet sizing preflop”, “chaser”, “bad player, bet for VALUE”, “decent player” are many of the notes I commonly put on players. And yeah I would say those notes definitely help results. Especially for post flop play….. but also in preflop all in situations, it helps to know who is stacking off with what. Like I said, I'm really happy for you Steve. Congrats and hopefully you keep running well. If you don't, don't take it too hard either :D. See ya for now

  3. Jack, thanks for your comments about the note taking aspect of the game. I think over time, it is helpful but I have also noticed that sometimes one of these players act differently at night as opposed to the morning or afternoon. Either their meds had not kicked him or perhaps more than one person share a user name and login. Possible college students? Maybe they have MPPD – multiple poker personality disorder?

Leave a Reply

