Hmm. Same avatar, same name, but they play differently….

Double Mask
Image by jorgeq via Flickr

For the last few days I have been running well, playing Limit Hold ‘Em cash/ring games at DoylesRoom. While yesterday was a successful venture, I found that the players at the table to be a little better than the night before and my overall win rate went down from $20 an hour to $5 and hour. Being that this is a .50/1.00 limit table, this is still good for that level.

Not only were the players better than the night before,   I also noticed that one of these players acted differently last night as opposed to Sunday night. Either their meds had not kicked in or perhaps more than one person shares a user name and login. Possibly college students? Maybe they have MPPD – multiple poker personality disorder? This was an interesting observation – I will have to see if this is a regular occurrence. I have seen an instance of something like this on FullTiltPoker where someone asked a player if he was say “Matt” but he responded, “no, Tim”. I did not think much about it at the time.

While this would be much harder to do face to face, I wonder how many people share accounts online?  I know that I have let my wife Diane play a Sit N Go using my login on occasion. She does show an active interest in the game and soon will have her own login and account. She has played in charity No Limit Hold ‘Em Poker events and has done better than I at some of those events.

Have you ever encountered someone online that played and acted totally different from one day to the next? Has this ever happened playing people face to face? How did that affect your playing?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
3 thoughts on “Hmm. Same avatar, same name, but they play differently….

  1. Hi Steve,I think you were closer here when you said the MPPD (nice one! hehe). Even knowing that there are 2 people playIt's said by the book (Any of them… don't remember) that the style of a player is constant on the long road, but it's affected by all kind of variables like mood, chipstack, winning rate… among others.But I think the point here is something that happened at the table before your arrival the first time or before your second arrival.Taking apart the self-destructor uber-donk, People's game is affected by the texture of a table and their adaptation… after, they keep it a while (how long depend of the player, I have seen it and probably you too).For example (although I try to avoid it and being cold): “In a TPT I played (one of the 2 I played) I felt uncomfortable due to the fact I got rag when the bets were low and it came overbet (a lot) when got some playable but not so much, then got frustrated and play aggresive with TP low kicker vs a tight player who opened the hand so he got TPTK… result: a mess (dont remember the player, do you? 😛 )””Then I played face to face with my friends: 1 player was bad commenting bout me and got nervous and played loose-pasive (maniac mode) instead of my normal play. It worked (I beat him fair and square anyways, I mean a tilted player still play good some hands) before I went down.”Or “I donked out my remaining money on my FTP accout cause it came from a web bonus forget about the account and it was going to dissappear (in really short time) if I didn't make a large amount of player points on time”Conclusion: Not everybody is always cold, and you must take all the profit possible out of it. Think you can actually see more variables face to face than online you can see the detonator of the variable (like a call, a discussion… whatever!). And not only tilting can change a play but a texture wich last long. Play the play/player not the sterotype and then be glad of playing the same players because you'll get accurater notes etc… What a large comment!!! with many examples of little importance overall. Anyways hope it helps.Imanoth

    • Imanoth, I appreciate your comments and the amount of detail in them. It is possible as you said that the “same” player acted differently one night from the other due to the fact that he might have been on tilt. I liked your examples including the one where I might have been on tilt as well at a TPT. I have had some games where I played well and ran well as well as games I just donked terribly because I lost my focus – hmm just I tilted. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with me.Steve

  2. Imanoth, I appreciate your comments and the amount of detail in them. It is possible as you said that the “same” player acted differently one night from the other due to the fact that he might have been on tilt. I liked your examples including the one where I might have been on tilt as well at a TPT. I have had some games where I played well and ran well as well as games I just donked terribly because I lost my focus – hmm just I tilted. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with me.Steve

Leave a Reply

