Playing micro stakes No Limit Hold 'Em

A picture of a texas hold'em poker table, with...
Image via Wikipedia

Of late I have been playing No Limit Hold ‘Em cash games with blinds of .05/.10 and a minimum buy-in of 50 big blinds (BB) or $5.00.  When playing No Limit I play fairly tight and aggressive post flop, if I hit. Last night I played about eighty hands over the course of over two hours. During that time, I only had two pocket pairs, a pair of jacks and a pair of kings.  I won a small pot with the jacks and went bust with the kings.

I was maintaining an average stack of 40 to 50 BB’s until a hand I was dealt in late position cost me about 22 BB’s. I had an Ace Ten off suit in late position. Three of us were involved in the hand. I raised the pot pre-flop by a pot size bet andI  got two callers.  The flop contained an Ace and two other cards lower than my ten but two of them were clubs. The small blind made a pot size bet and the middle position player called. I saw that I was getting two to one odds to call and so I called.

The turn card was low and not a club. The small blind bet out a small 10 BB’s sized bet. The middle player and I just called. The river card was a club, meaning that three clubs were on the board. The small blind bet out a 15 BB sized bet. The middle position player and I both called. We turned over our cards. The middle position player had an Ace three for a pair of Aces; I had Ace ten for a pair of Aces with a better kicker. The small blind had hit his flush draw and showed us the best hand.  His value bet at the end increased his winnings by pricing us in.

This was one of those times where you wonder if you should even play Ace Ten in late position and if you do, should you try to raise high enough to make a flush draw fold. At these stakes, however, someone with a flush draw is apt to stay in right to the river regardless of their odds of making the hand.

My final hand of evening was a pair of kings dealt to me in the “under the gun” position, UTG, right after the big blind.  I lead out with a pot size bet and got one caller. We saw the flop, which was Q 3 7. The caller raised to the size of the pot and I shoved in all my remaining chips. He turned over the cards I was hoping to see – an A Q off suit, giving me the lead at that point. The turn card was a queen, giving him three of a kind, beating my pocket kings. I felt good about my play, overall. I went in with the best hand and was outdrawn.  Being all in, I decided not to rebuy and instead left the table. I was starting to feel tired and felt that it was best to stop.

What influences your decision to leave a game? Do you leave after you reach a certain win level or a certain loss level? Do you leave when you are not playing as well as you think you should?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
3 thoughts on “Playing micro stakes No Limit Hold 'Em

  1. Play lower stakes maybe and full stack definitely please :D. In general if you feel like you have an edge on your opponent you want to have a full stack… no short stacking! The kings hand was played fine :D. You got your money good. As for the AT hand, at some point you need to take control of the hand, or things like that will happen. You were the original preflop raiser, in general don't let someone take control after the flop. Look at the board texture and think about what they could be “donk betting” (betting OOP without being the original raiser.) You're up against worse aces, FDs, sets, maybe 2 pairs. I don't mind calling flop too much, but raise turn when the card is a blank. Maybe even raise flop. In general the hand was just played pretty passively and I think that was the problem. If you're going to be raising ATo in late position and not jam the pot when the flop hits perfectly Axx low cards, then why raise ATo in the first place? That's pretty much “your” flop after raising pre. If you raised the FD person would have probably gotten out of the way and you would have won a decent pot from the other guy with the ace. Which makes me think that raising flop and not turn is the best choice now that I think about it. Just food for thought :D. Also, don't pot preflop… 3Xbb or 4Xbb + 1BB per limper. When you are full stacking and raising about this much with good hands in position, you'll be able to isolate players alot more and abuse your position to take down pots.Have fun at NL!

    • Jack, as always your comments are packed with tips and great suggestions. Yes I will increase my buy-in so that I am not short stacked. That is a no no. Doyle Brunson spoke about it in both System I and System II. You want to be in a position to take the other person's stack when you hit good. Thanks, Steve

  2. Jack, as always your comments are packed with tips and great suggestions. Yes I will increase my buy-in so that I am not short stacked. That is a no no. Doyle Brunson spoke about it in both System I and System II. You want to be in a position to take the other person's stack when you hit good. Thanks, Steve

Leave a Reply

