It is becoming more challenging to play at PS but not for the reasons you might think!

Poker Players Alliance
Image via Wikipedia

Over the last serval months I have not played much at the PokerStars site. This is not due to reasons of dissatisfaction with PS, but more with the fact that all of the tourneys played by the Twitter Poker Tour, RailBirds and American Poker  are mostly played on FullTiltPoker. Plus I have been playing most of my cash No Limit Hold ‘Em games on either DoylesRoom or a new site, Full Rush Poker.

Couple that with the fact that I have been losing on PS, my balance with them is now under $10. As I do play one or two events a week on PS, I decided to add an additional  $50.00 which should cover me for the rest of the year for those events win or lose.

I used to use the eCheck option, but my bank has recently informed me that I may not do that. So I tried one of my credit cards that has recently worked on three different sites. This time it was declined, but not for lack of credit. I never keep a balance on any of my cards, paying them each month in total to avoid rake (interest). I tried a second card that has worked in the past as well. No go.

So now I will get a bank or cashiers check and mail it to PS. Within 7 to 14 days, I should be at a workable balance for the type of games that I play on PS. PS does not accept personal checks. You see the irony here. I cannot use my account but I can buy a bank check and use the banks account! They get a fee on bank and cashier checks and earn interest until the check has been cashed.

In the meantime I will try playing the “Double or Nothing” Sit n Go’s offered by PS to build my bankroll back up with them.

My previous post about how it is becoming difficult to play online is becoming truer and truer. I have written to the President, my Senators and Representatives via forms supplied by the Poker Players Alliance. I suggest that you do the same.

What are your thoughts about the current online poker laws in the USA? What should we as players do to change this? What can you do?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
8 thoughts on “It is becoming more challenging to play at PS but not for the reasons you might think!

  1. Hi Steve, I'll give you a recommendation about paying. Although I didn't cashout yet (cause I started with a few bucks and Im a sng player now, so… I'm still building it though ^^ but I have prepared the cashout strategy and I take care of what I should have cashed out etc…).I did a research for the quicker, cleaner and easier way to cash out/ deposit through the web,and I think it would help you. It's NetEller. Check it out… have a lot of advantages wich I hope available to you in order to avoid that government [crap] issues, you're talking about lately.Wishes,Imanoth

    • I used to yse NetTeller until they banned US playrer from using it. I had about $100 in NetTeller that was unavailable to me for over a year. The US had reached out and fined them and had them stop allowing US players. Still, there may be other options.

      • Boof… You're getting a lot of problems with those bans in anything related to your own money…. >.< Moneybookers maybe? It isnt as cool as Netteller… but it's a way. Or create an account in a foreign bank and get a credit card from them. On the other hand you can always cheat the system (you know.. recolating the IP address, etc…) but go against the system this way… isnt good, fair harmless fraud is still fraud though. I wish PPA and overall american poker players justice to their own rights, till then you must be wily . Imanoth.

      • Sad3y, a lot of the options that you have are not allowed for US players. Only time will tell if this will change. Based on what I am seeing currently … I think not.

  2. Hi Steve, I'll give you a recommendation about paying. Although I didn't cashout yet (cause I started with a few bucks and Im a sng player now, so… I'm still building it though ^^ but I have prepared the cashout strategy and I take care of what I should have cashed out etc…).I did a research for the quicker, cleaner and easier way to cash out/ deposit through the web,and I think it would help you. It's NetEller. Check it out… have a lot of advantages wich I hope available to you in order to avoid that government [crap] issues, you're talking about lately.Wishes,Imanoth

  3. I used to yse NetTeller until they banned US playrer from using it. I had about $100 in NetTeller that was unavailable to me for over a year. The US had reached out and fined them and had them stop allowing US players. Still, there may be other options.

  4. Boof… You're getting a lot of problems with those bans in anything related to your own money…. >.< Moneybookers maybe? It isnt as cool as Netteller… but it's a way. Or create an account in a foreign bank and get a credit card from them. On the other hand you can always cheat the system (you know.. recolating the IP address, etc…) but go against the system this way… isnt good, fair harmless fraud is still fraud though. I wish PPA and overall american poker players justice to their own rights, till then you must be wily . Imanoth.

  5. Sad3y, a lot of the options that you have are not allowed for US players. Only time will tell if this will change. Based on what I am seeing currently … I think not.

Leave a Reply

