Professional No-Limit Hold 'Em Volume 1 – a preliminary review

Poker night - Who's gonna win?
Image by Philofoto via Flickr

In my never ending quest to learn how to play the many forms of poker that are available, I am currently reading a recently published book, Professional No-Limit Hold ’em: Volume I, written by Matt Flynn, Sunny Mehta, and Ed Miller.

While I have finished only half of the book so far, this one fixes a lot of the holes that I have in my No-Limit cash game. The book is divided into five sections:  “The Basics”, “The Fundamentals”, “The REM Process”, “Planning Hands Around Commitment”, and “Planning in Practice”.

Each chapter is well thought out, containing an introduction, explanation of the concepts being discussed. Examples of how to use the concepts and a summary or wrap up.

Even though I have not finished this book, I found it to be of value already. Just some of the basic and fundamental concepts were enough to help me focus better on my game of No Limit and has been of great value.

I hope to include in my final review of this fine addition to my poker library how this book has improved my overall results at poker.

Have you ever started reading a book and found that it made an immediate impact? What poker books have help you in your game?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
4 thoughts on “Professional No-Limit Hold 'Em Volume 1 – a preliminary review

  1. A book about poker…I really like books about poker (as trainer, teacher, strategy builder…etc… as well as I like poker movies for entertainment). Of course you are learning with this new book (it's a good one, do you know there is a volume 2 called “Small Stakes: No Limit Poker” wich has been published in June this year?) and you learnt before with another ones. I think a poker reading isn't a knowledge with wich you see results immediately but a proggresive little helper in your ear (a green suited, bearded good leprechaun “oh boy! I like irish references”) so I think the immediate impact or instant rush you felt is due to a placebo effect. You just recovered your focus and confidence (and it's good because it's needed) this way because you wanted to find it in the book. You should write down for yourself how you feel and what make you feel like this, in order to keep the feeling every time you play (like the “happy thoughs” wich makes you can fly in “Peter Pan”'s).It's like…. reading a pychology book… because you feel bad with yourself and you need to understand the guy in the mirror, you may find yourself described there, feel worse and try to totally change and fail or you can focus… try to understand you and understand others (without make a great change, you just replenish your forces and hit back).Seems like I kicked the language (english) once more >.< Hope you understand. Wishes,ImanothPS: Usually happens that many of we (players) lose our “focus” feeling and recover it in a good rush, just to forget it when it ends. Our “happy thoughs” are so volatile.. hehe. Knowledge and focus are different but if knowledge finally makes you focus… oh! so welcome ^^

    • Imanoth, you do have a way with words! I like the way you have expressed yourself. I do wish that poker was just a frame of mind over matter. It is true that a positive image at the table will make a big difference. I am not sure that this works as well online. Does my avatar show strength and confidence? On FTP I switched my image from a pirate to a leprechaun. Has it brought me luck? No. But I am hopeful that skill will outweigh luck in the long run. In the short run, any two cards will do. Thank you again for your comments and advice. I enjoy hearing from you!

  2. Pingback: Professional No-Limit Hold 'Em Volume 1 - a preliminary review

  3. Imanoth, you do have a way with words! I like the way yo have expressed yourself. I do wish that poker was just a frame of mind over matter. It is true that a positive image at the table will make a big difference. I am not sure that this works as well online. Does my avatar show strength and confidence? On FTP I switched my image from a pirate to a leprechaun. Has it brought me luck? No. But I am hopeful that skill will outweigh luck in the long run. In the short run, any two cards will do. Thank you again for your comments and advice. I enjoy hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

