Jack's back!

Jack Love
Image by HAURY! via Flickr

In my previous post I talked about what  I learned on how to play with Jacks. But I may not have taken my own advice as I ran into Jacks in two of the poker sessions that I played yesterday.

In the morning session, I was dealt a pair of Jacks in early position. I placed a pot sized bet and was called by one person. The flop was J 10 6, rainbow, no matching suits. I made a 3/4 pot size bet and was called. The turn card was a 2, matching the 6, making it possible for a flush draw. I made a 3/4 pot size bet and again was called. The river card was an Ace. I bet 1/2 of the pot and was called. My opponent turned over his cards, a 10 6, for two pair and my three Jacks won a large pot. This time, having Jacks and playing them the way I did, produced good results for me.

Three hands later I was dealt pocket nines. I was in early position and just called the bet, not putting in a raise.  The flop was J 8 3. I bet out a 1/2 pot size raise and was called. The turn card was a Jack, giving me a pair of nines with a pair of Jacks on the board. As I was the first to act, I again bet a 1/2 the pot size. My opponent called. The river card was a Jack, giving me a full house of Jacks over nines. This did concern me as my opponent might have had a pocket pair higher than my nines. But his betting did not seem to indicate that this was the case. Or so I thought. I lead out with a 3/4 pot size bet and my opponent re-raised with a pot size bet. If I called, I would be all in and would lose my entire stack if I was wrong.

I gave the situation some thought, trying to figure out if he did have a higher full house than mine. Based on the betting, it did not seem likely.  So I called for all of my cash. We both turned over our cards.

I might have had the highest full house, but, he had a Jack 10, giving him four jacks, four of a kind for the best hand. He had let me do the betting for him. Not once had I considered that he might have had a Jack and that he was slow-playing this monster hand. Definitely, Jack was back, with a vengeance.

Being beat by four of a kind or quads, happened to me twice yesterday. The second time, I had pocket 10’s. At the end of the hand, at the river, there were three eights on the board, giving me a full house of eights over tens. And just like the morning session, I did not give my opponent credit for having an eight in his hand. The results of the evening session were the same. I ended up losing my buy-in with a full house against four eights. Overall, an interesting but frustrating way to end the day.  On the bright side, I am learning to be careful how I bet a full house when holding the smaller end of  the hand.  Before retiring for the night, I had recovered almost 70% of what I had lost.

When you have a full house, do you take into consideration that your opponent might have a larger full house? Do you bet cautiously or do you try to increase the pot size and force your opponent to fold if he has a hand that cannot beat yours? What has your results been when having the smaller half of  the full house? Have you ever had your full house beaten by quads?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

