TPT "Bad Beat on Cancer" event was a success

Poker
Image by Lewis Walsh via Flickr

The BBoC event sponsored by the Twitter Poker Tour was a success with 314 players attending. This was more that triple the number of players that played the August 10, 2009 event.

The prize pool was $1,570 and $1,670 was raised for the Prevent Cancer Foundation as additional money was added to the donation based on the number of players entered in the event. The tourney started at 6:25 pm EST and had 12 Full Tilt Poker pros at the tables.

I was lucky enough to have Michael Craig at my table. Michael, who writes the Full Tilt Poker Blog, is a very good professional poker player.  The two hands I played against him had cost me a third of my chips. I was on an opened ended straight draw and called his pre-flop and post flop bet for about a third of my stack. We checked it down but I did not make my straight and his pair of Aces won the pot.

Of note, none of the 12 FTP pros made the money. And I am not sure why?  Within the first 10 hands at our table, Michael Craig’s stack went from 1,500 to less than 800. In the next ten hands he was able to triple up to over 2,400 and by the time I left the table he had over 3,400 in chips.

The structure for this tourney was a starting stack of 1,500 per player, with blinds increasing at every ten minutes, starting at 10/15 and increasing by level nine to 100/200 before antes start being paid by each player. I finished in 232th position out of 314. Only the top 27 players got paid for their efforts.

With 314 players you would need at least 52,500 to be in good shape to reach the final table. I arrived at that by multiplying the 1,500 in starting chips by 314 to get 471,000. Then I divided that by 9 at the final table. This is just a rough method that I use to determine what chip stack goals I should aim to achieve in order to finish and make the finial table.

This is a worthwhile charity even if you don’t win or don’t even play. We had some players that were “sitting out” because they could not make the event but registered anyway. Half of their registration fee went towards the charity. There were some players that announced that part of all of their winnings would be donated to the charity as well.

Perhaps the TPT BBoC event can become a quarterly event held on the third Sunday of February, May, August and November? We shall see.

Do you play charity events? Do you play for the win or are you satisfied to just participate for a good cause?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
4 thoughts on “TPT "Bad Beat on Cancer" event was a success

  1. Thanks for participating in the event Steve, and for you kind words in the other posts. I'm really happy that we had the turnout that we did, and I think that these events will only continue to grow!

    • Paul, you are most welcome. I know that this event is near and dear to you. I am willing to sign up and give my donation to the event even if I did not play. I noticed that you had some chips early on. It was a fun event.

  2. Thanks for participating in the event Steve, and for you kind words in the other posts. I'm really happy that we had the turnout that we did, and I think that these events will only continue to grow!

  3. Paul, you are most welcome. I know that this event is near and dear to you. I am willing to sign up and give my donation to the event even if I did not play. I noticed that you had some chips early on. It was a fun event.

Leave a Reply

