December poker goals

m nHarry Truman's poker chips
Image via Wikipedia

I believe that goal setting should be done using attainable goals. But I don’t mean that I should set the level of my goals too low, making it easy to obtain them.

It has taken me over three months to recoup my early losses at DoylesRoom.com. I was  playing Limit Hold ‘Em trying to avoid the exact same losses that I sustained. Since that time, I have switched over to playing  No Limit Hold ‘Em.  I have had winning sessions that have grown my bankroll with Doyle’s to within $25 of what I had started with three months ago.

Having said that, my December goal is to increase my account with Doyle’s by $62 in winnings. At that point, I will move up from the .25/.50 cash games with a $30 buy-in to the .50/1.00 with a $50 buy-in. I realize that by moving up, the games will be a little harder as the players tend to be a little better and more experienced.  In the event that my account dips below my November level, I would step down a level or back to .25/.50 until I rebuild my account.

My 2010 goal for playing at DoylesRoom is to steadily win and move up to the $2/$4 by the end of the year at the least. My ultimate goal is to be able to generate a steady income by playing poker, a game and a challenge that I enjoy.

My tournament goals for this year are being limited to mostly Twitter Poker Tour and Railbird events until my tourney playing skills improve.  Yes, I will take an occasional shot at a satellite tourney but knowing that I still have a lot to learn, I will be patient until my skills catch up with my ambitions.

Do you set poker goals? How do you define them? Do you have a fall back plan to keep you from depleting your bankroll?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
3 thoughts on “December poker goals

  1. I've always avoided goal setting. I just have a vague “make more money per hour average than last year.” I suppose that's a goal, but what's the alternative? Plan on losing money?I do like the “New Years Resolution” idea, which is also a kind of goal. I don't have one yet, but I'll post it by 2010.

    • Funny you should mention the losing part. That has not been my plan over the last three years but I have not had a winning year. Yet. But then, I had no idea what I was doing. I would just look and my cards and say “WooT” and then wonder why I had lost. At least now I am armed with more tools. I still have a hard time laying down AA, KK or QQ and JJ's have caused me great harm. Have you started playing again online? I saw your tweets that said you might be considering resuming online play?

  2. Funny you should mention the losing part. That has not been my plan over the last three years but I have not had a winning year. Yet. But then, I had no idea what I was doing. I would just look and my cards and say “WooT” and then wonder why I had lost. At least now I am armed with more tools. I still have a hard time laying down AA, KK or QQ and JJ's have caused me great harm. Have you started playing again online? I saw your tweets that said you might be considering resuming online play?

Leave a Reply

