Being on personal tilt – how that affects you!

Leaning Tower of Pizza
Image via Wikipedia

Wednesday, an indirect personal interaction took place that left me on emotional tilt for the last few days. Initially after it happened, I tried to play in a cash game but did not have the ability to focus on the game. I was unable to play my game in the tempo and manner in which I normally play. After being dealt about 27 games, I clicked first on the “sit out” button and then clicked on the “leave table” button.

Thursday, I was still on tilt when it was time to write my blog so I did not even bother. Personal tilt ended up affecting both my poker game and my blogging.

By Thursday night, I had calmed down enough to try playing in the cash game. I wanted to try working through the personal tilt, recognizing that some day I might be at an event or tourney and I would be required to play regardless of what my emotional state might be.

Overall, I played about 280 hands of poker and lost over $45 in the process of trying to work out playing on personal tilt. I know that some hands were played poorly but overall I had accomplished what I set out to do in spite of the bad results.

Have you ever been on personal tilt? Did you try to continue as though nothing had happened? How did that affect your game, let alone your life at that moment?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
4 thoughts on “Being on personal tilt – how that affects you!

    • lol. What happened was not as important to the post as was the affect it had on me. Thank you for asking about it. Although I do share many of my thoughts and ideas on my posting, I still am somewhat private about my day to day stuff. Maybe I need to open up more. We shall see.

  1. lol. What happened was not as important to the post as was the affect it had on me. Thank you for asking about it. Although I do share many of my thoughts and ideas on my posting, I still am somewhat private about my day to day stuff. Maybe I need to open up more. We shall see.

Leave a Reply

