Pocket Aces in a cash game – there are many blogs talking about them!

Ace of spades
Image by thun via Flickr

It turns out that the discussion about how to play pocket Aces in a cash game is a very common one and a well discussed topic. I used Google Search and turned up over 43,00o hits on the topic. I have since read over a dozen of them and have digested what I have read to the point where I now know that I did in fact play the hand incorrectly.

The following paragraph was from my original post titled “Aces cracked on my first hand of the session!”

When it was my turn to be the big blind, I was dealt a pair of pocket Aces, the best starting hand possible before the flop. Two players to my left folded but the aggressive player raised by betting the pot, $1.75.  Everyone folded to him and when it was my turn to bet,  I raised the pot to $5.00 and the aggressive player called for $3.25. The flop was 8s,Tc,6h and I bet the size of the pot or $10.25 and the aggressive player called. The turn card was a king of hearts. Again I bet as much as I could, less than half of the pot, which put me all in for my remaining $14.75. The aggressive player called. He turned over an A6 off suit. He had only a pair of sixes against my pair of aces. The river card was a 6, giving him three sixes or the best hand and the aggressive player won the pot containing $57.25 which included my entire stack and whatever he bet, less the rake that DoylesRoom took from the pot.

According to the articles I read, where I went wrong was to continue to bet out as it appeared that my opponent was calling with some kind of draw regardless of the size of my bets. The rule of thumb about pocket aces is that you can win small pots with them or lose big pots with them. Even though I had the best hand right up to the turn, I failed to limit the amount of money I could lose if he hit his magic card on the river, which he did. That said, I had position on him and I had a good read on him and I hit a bit of bad luck when he hit the river card for three of a kind.

If I played hard only when I had the nuts, the best possible hand, I probably would not play many hands at all. In fact, for the most part, I fold almost 93% of  my hands. I even fold the small blinds if I have junk cards most of the time. I do not defend the big blinds often without good cards but on occasion will re-raise a cut-off or button raise as they often try to steal the blinds.

The following are just a few of the links that I found regarding this topic and the articles that I have read on this topic.

http://www.rakebackriches.com/unfoldable-aces.htm

http://poker-info.com/tips/playing-pocket-aces.html

http://www.hollywoodpoker.com/green-room/poker-lifestyle/poker-stories/poker-coach-pocket-aces.html

http://www.ehow.com/how_2256053_play-pocket-aces.html

http://www.towergaming.com/online-poker/school/strategy/pocket-aces-howto.html

http://stonecoldbluff.co.uk/articles/how-to-play-pocket-aces/

And these are just online resources. I am sure there are poker articles about playing pocket aces out there as well.

Where do you go to learn about playing pocket aces? What has you success been with the approach you take?

4 thoughts on “Pocket Aces in a cash game – there are many blogs talking about them!

  1. Pingback: Pocket Aces in a cash game – there are many blogs about them …

  2. *all in my opinion* This is a bad mentality to have. Pocket aces are any online grinders most profitable hand over the long term.. When you start playing to minimize your losses “just in case he hits his magic card” you're making an -EV choice. If you know someone is willing to keep calling with a horrible draw and you've already put money in with what you think is the best hand, why would you not want to keep betting? Poker is about making your opponents make mistakes.. Just an example from my last 75000 hands or so. http://x47.xanga.com/6f6f5273d8030260409261/b20…AA is way out in front. If AA only won small pots and lost large pots eventually wouldn't it be losing money?Again, thinking “oh no he might call with a worse hand” just makes no sense to me. If you're playing with a proper bankroll then you should always be pushing your edges and not being results oriented. You played your aces fine and your opponent got lucky, I think in this case that's as simple as it can get.

    • Jack, thanks again for clarifying that. But after all the comments and all that I read, I had second thoughts. I initially thought that I did play the hand correctly but after reading the comments, I started to rethink what I had done, then I went and read some more about it.I agree that I got in with the best hand and my opponent just got lucky at the river. If I played only when I had no chance of losing or the nuts only, I probably would not play much or win much. As always your answer comes at a good time. I was starting to question my self. I should always analyze my playing but there is a case where you can over analyze a hand.

  3. Jack, thanks again for clarifying that. But after all the comments and all that I read, I had second thoughts. I initially thought that I did play the hand correctly but after reading the comments, I started to rethink what I had done, then I went and read some more about it.I agree that I got in with the best hand and my opponent just got lucky at the river. If I played only when I had no chance of losing or the nuts only, I probably would not play much or win much. As always your answer comes at a good time. I was starting to question my self. I should always analyze my playing but there is a case where you can over analyze a hand.

Leave a Reply

