… follow-up to "I am a losing poker player!" post!

Example of position in texas holdem
Image via Wikipedia

As I mentioned in my last post, I have finally decided that I am not having a run of bad luck which is causing me to lose at playing poker.

It is how I play that causes me to lose.

It is when I fail to extract extra value for my good hands.

It is when I fail to fold hands even when the evidence is in that the hand is in trouble.

It is when I go on tilt and bluff away my stack.

There are a lot of leaks in my game that need to be plugged.

But I am working on it.

My last twenty four sessions on Absolute Poker playing No Limit .10/.25 has seen me winning enough to be in the black so far for April. In fact, if I just look at the last 24 sessions alone, I have won over $63 or almost $2.75 per session. I realize that is not a lot but it does mean that I am moving in the right direction.

Now, looking at my spreadsheets, I see that I have had some good runs in the past and then went down hill from there, so I will not get too over confident that I am now the improved player of the year.

What this does mean is that my bankroll on Absolute is growing to the point where I will be able to move up to the next level, .25/.50 and see if my success continues.

What am I doing different?  I play with the idea of winning small pots, I watch my position versus the big and small blind, I keep track of the other player’s tendencies, I try to mix up my play so that I am not easy to read. I try to pick off the bluffs that in the past caused to fold winning hands.

I still need to learn to back off when I am re-raised and I don’t have the best hand.

How do you adjust from being a losing player to a break-even  player and finally to a winning player?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
7 thoughts on “… follow-up to "I am a losing poker player!" post!

  1. It is funny how the same principals apply in many different aspects of business. When we shoot for the next BIG thing or try to over complicate things they tend to steer unexpectedly in the wrong direction on a fast spiral downward.When we break things down to simple, small and actionable steps we can build momentum and the use the momentum to (fund in your case) or guide our path forward. The secret is when you gain momentum (and currency/leverage) to keep to your roots and (bet) with the same principles and strategy's when you started. Easier said than done when we have what we perceive as the 'big win' sitting in front of us and the small guy in the back of our head saying…. Why not go for it? You could be RICH!I try to always remember that Rich is relative, happiness is not.Great post and good luck sticking it to em in the .25/.50 round!-Shane Mac

    • Thanks for your comments Shane. I like how you put the business spin to my post and I realize that this applies to life as well. Taking each step in a process, breaking it down, improving the process until the finished product is where you want it.Have a terrific day!

  2. Stevie what's up man, long time no comment. I have a couple things to say that are just my opinion based off reading this and your last blog post. First, is bankroll management. It sounds like you're using a flawed system because you should really never being going broke with a good bankroll management system. You should have 20-25 buyins for each limit Steve. That means for…NL2 you should have 40-50$NL5 you should have 100-125$NL10 you should have 200-250$NL25 you should have 500-625$On Absolute you shouldn't be moving up to .25/.50 until you have 1000-1250 bucks in your bankroll! Really. This is assuming you're a winning player at the limit. Is that how much you have? Because if it isn't you're taking a big big big risk moving up.In my opinion you need to move down to NL2, with 50 bucks in your bankroll, and then grind it up from there. Grind NL2 until you have 100 dollars in your bankroll, then take a NL5 shot, and if you lose 2 buyins, move back to NL2… rinse wash and repeat until your bankroll grows and you can move up limits. The excuse of “players at NL2 don't ever fold!” or “I don't like playing for pennys” is really a bad mentality to have if you ever want to be a successful poker player. Grinding up a bankroll from the bottom of the bottom builds your patience and confidence in your game. Poker is all about patience. If you can't beat the huge fish at NL2 then there's a problem with your game. And also, INVEST IN POKERTRACKER 3 MICROSTAKES EDITION.https://www.pokertracker.com/products/PT3/purch…There is NO EXCUSE for someone struggling not to be using Pokertracker 3. None! If you need help setting it up, ask me and I'll post up a blog entry on how to do it. Even just knowing your opponents VPIP/PFR is a huge huge help in certain spots like “playing JJ preflop” something that I've seen you blog about before. PT3 makes it easy to track your results, figure out how your opponents are playing, and how you yourself are playing. Get it! It's like 40 bucks and will pay for its self. Also, I don't know if it will be a great help to you, but you can always pokertablerating your opponents if you need info on someone quickly. http://www.pokertableratings.com/ It's a great help if you don't already know about it. Just don't mention it at the table to berate someone… PTR isn't totally accurate, but will give you a good idea on someones ability. So…1) Bankroll management!2) Move down and start over! Build confidence and patience3) Pokertracker 3 Microstakes edition! (!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)4) Pokertableratings.com for cash game infoIf you want to be a winning player you need patience Steve. You can't just start at NL25 and expect to win. NL25 and NL50 online are tough games, way more than people give them credit of being. Anyways, sorry if this comes out as harsh. It's just my opinion based off what I read. I am not a poker god, but I do read alot of what winning players have to say. 😛 – Jack

    • Jack, Thanks for your comments. You offer good advice. I will continue to grind at this level until my bankroll with them hits the $500. What you says makes absolute sense and since I only now having some success, it may be short lived.

      I have been staying off of Absolute since the last time I blew away a bankroll there. I was playing over my head and in the “bad beat” games to boot. I also did not know how to handle my emotions. When I thought that I was targeted by a player, I would play back only to find my KK beaten by AA, my QQ beaten by KK, my straights beaten by flushes, my flushes beaten by full houses. I even would play back with the worst hands and still be beaten. Can you imagine?

      As I mentioned, I have so many holes in my game it looks just like a sieve.

      Steve

      • I have purchased and installed PT3 – Micro – and update the database. I am really going to hate to see what it tells me. My spreadsheets were bad enough.

        But I need all the help that I can get!

        I have also moved down to the .05/.10 and am buying in at the max of $10.

        We shall see what happens.

  3. Thanks for your comments Shane. I like how you put the business spin to my post and I realize that this applies to life as well. Taking each step in a process, breaking it down, improving the process until the finished product is where you want it.Have a terrific day!

  4. Stevie what's up man, long time no comment. I have a couple things to say that are just my opinion based off reading this and your last blog post. First, is bankroll management. It sounds like you're using a flawed system because you should really never being going broke with a good bankroll management system. You should have 20-25 buyins for each limit Steve. That means for…NL2 you should have 40-50$NL5 you should have 100-125$NL10 you should have 200-250$NL25 you should have 500-625$On Absolute you shouldn't be moving up to .25/.50 until you have 1000-1250 bucks in your bankroll! Really. This is assuming you're a winning player at the limit. Is that how much you have? Because if it isn't you're taking a big big big risk moving up.In my opinion you need to move down to NL2, with 50 bucks in your bankroll, and then grind it up from there. Grind NL2 until you have 100 dollars in your bankroll, then take a NL5 shot, and if you lose 2 buyins, move back to NL2… rinse wash and repeat until your bankroll grows and you can move up limits. The excuse of “players at NL2 don't ever fold!” or “I don't like playing for pennys” is really a bad mentality to have if you ever want to be a successful poker player. Grinding up a bankroll from the bottom of the bottom builds your patience and confidence in your game. Poker is all about patience. If you can't beat the huge fish at NL2 then there's a problem with your game. And also, INVEST IN POKERTRACKER 3 MICROSTAKES EDITION.https://www.pokertracker.com/products/PT3/purch…There is NO EXCUSE for someone struggling not to be using Pokertracker 3. None! If you need help setting it up, ask me and I'll post up a blog entry on how to do it. Even just knowing your opponents VPIP/PFR is a huge huge help in certain spots like “playing JJ preflop” something that I've seen you blog about before. PT3 makes it easy to track your results, figure out how your opponents are playing, and how you yourself are playing. Get it! It's like 40 bucks and will pay for its self. Also, I don't know if it will be a great help to you, but you can always pokertablerating your opponents if you need info on someone quickly. http://www.pokertableratings.com/ It's a great help if you don't already know about it. Just don't mention it at the table to berate someone… PTR isn't totally accurate, but will give you a good idea on someones ability. So…1) Bankroll management!2) Move down and start over! Build confidence and patience3) Pokertracker 3 Microstakes edition! (!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)4) Pokertableratings.com for cash game infoIf you want to be a winning player you need patience Steve. You can't just start at NL25 and expect to win. NL25 and NL50 online are tough games, way more than people give them credit of being. Anyways, sorry if this comes out as harsh. It's just my opinion based off what I read. I am not a poker god, but I do read alot of what winning players have to say. 😛 – Jack

Leave a Reply

