August Results, and what's happening, sort of…

Finish Line
Image by MikeSchinkel via Flickr

Thanks to using most of the tips that I learned from the WPT Boot Camp that I attended, I finished August in the black.

September was starting to look like a different story.

I started out playing on various sites, trying to find which online sites contained softer tables for me to play on (meaning that they have people that played worse than I do).

I played on three different sites, DoylesRoom, FullTiltPoker, and Bodog Poker.

I lost two out of three sessions on Doyles.
I lost two out of three sessions playing “Rush Poker” on FTP.
I lost two out of three sessions playing on Bodog.

This was not at what I wanted to see after taking the two day WPT Boot Camp for cash game players.

It wasn’t until my last three sessions at FTP that I started to see the results that I had hoped for.

Overall, I have played twelve sessions in September; 7 losing, 5 winning.

As I look back over my sessions, I did see that I had not always stuck to using the methods learned at the camp. I would also let my emotion cloud my judgement and continue to bet or raise when it was clear that my opponent was calling because they had the better hand.

I also learned that playing on the Rush Tables on Full Tilt was probably not a good idea. Since players are moved from table to table after folding their hands, it was hard to build a table image. Also at the stakes I was playing, .02/.05 and .05/.10, some players would play any two cards.

I had one Rush Table game where I had KK and raised to 4x BB (four times the big blind) in order to try to get most of the players to fold. I had one caller, a larger stack than mine call. The flop was 789 of spades. That was not a good flop for me, but I still placed a continuation raise of about 3/4 of the pot, which was about 10% of my stack. A three of diamonds was the turn card. I again put in a raise of about 3/4 of the current pot, which now was about 25% of my stack. My opponent re-raised an amount which would put me all-in and I called.

He turned over 10s, 2c, giving him both a flush draw, a straight draw, and a straight flush draw. Using an odds calculator later, I saw that my pocket kings had more than a 65% chance of winning. But my opponent hit his miracle card of a 5 of spades on the river to make a flush, winning my entire stack.

I tried not to get too upset, but, I sorta felt like Phil Hellmuth: What was this guy thinking of calling my raises and re-raises with just a 10 – 2 off-suit. I had no idea what he was thinking and I will probably never know.
That was my lesson learned. So based on my bad experiences on the Rush Tables, I decided that I will stick to regular cash game tables.

Have you learned by playing what works and what doesn’t? How do you find what tables you should play on? Do the stakes matter – micro versus low?

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

