Deciding when and how to play and why.

An illustration for the example hand in texas ...
Image via Wikipedia

Based on my bankroll, I consider myself to be a recreational player.  As I mentioned in my last post, I have about $3,000 tied up in online and cash play.

This allows me to play the .25/.50 games on line.  At those games I usually buy into at the maximum amount allowed, which is $50.

For the cash games I play the $1/2 No-Limit table when available (which is not very often as I would have to go from New Hampshire to Connecticut).  The buy-in for those games is either $200 or $300.

When I play in the poker rooms of New Hampshire, I play at the $2/4 Limit Hold em tables. I usually buy-in for the limit hold em games at $100/$120. Depending on how I am doing, I re-buy at either $50 or $100.

But I haven’t been to the New Hampshire tables for over two months now and my last time at the No-Limit Hold em tables in Connecticut was the middle of last August.  I am planning to go again at the end of September.

I find myself busier now at my “day” job, so I probably will be playing on line when I do play.  As I work at home, I can schedule my playing time around my work time.

So the “when” will end up being a little less often than before.  The “how” I play  should be – playing with the new skills I picked up at the WPT Boot Camp for cash games. The “why” I play …  poker is fun, and I enjoying winning.

When do you play? How do you play? And finally, why do you play?

Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “Deciding when and how to play and why.

  1. With 3,000 you have a safe bankroll for playing 1/2. I myself play 1/2 and 2/5 live,…as often as I can. Since I started a new job I have had a significant cut in my playing time, but luckily it is for a poker company 🙂

    paul

Leave a Reply

