What is in a name

south park avatar

I play a lot of Rush Poker on Full Tilt Poker, an affiliate link, because I play using my Android SmartPhone.

One of the things that I noticed while playing are my opponents names and the avatars that they have chosen.

Some of the names are the person’s first name and an initial and/or number to create a unique name.

Some of the names are supposed to represent the attributes of the player. Names like DezSpair, lossless1, Da Mad Clown, Bigsexywoman, AllInBlind27 indicate either an attitude or playing characteristic. My name of StevieTrips might indicate that I play hands when I have three of a kind. Like that happens a lot.

Some times the avatar chosen makes the statement. A shark, a fish, a lizard, a boxer, or a police officer might also be chosen to convey an online attitude.

All of this lends to interesting sessions. Do you believe the names they are using are really like the person behind the mouse controls? Is the avatar supposed to intimidate you into making a wrong play?

What do you think when you see your opponent’s avatar and/or name? How does that make you react?

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 thoughts on “What is in a name

  1. I take very little stock in the names or avatars. I do notice clever or interesting ones, but it doesn’t change the way I think of them. Their play dictates everything, their name nothing. Although I thought StevieTrips meant you trip and fall a lot. 😉

  2. Haha, I thought the same about StevieTrips Jim! I personally use a panda as an avatar at FTP, and I honestly don’t think it represents my style of play in any way. Same with other players’ names or avatars, they don’t mean anything to me, though I find the ATM avatar riddiculously amusing 🙂

Leave a Reply

