Winning

Play Money

Image by mandiberg via Flickr

$63,015 is my current play chip balance at FTP.

I am still awaiting their transfer back to me of my real cash balance with them since “BlackFriday“. But that is another story.

I am still allowed to play poker at FTP, but by using play chips that are free. I am also allowed to use the FTP phone app to play at the Rush Poker Tables. So when I am on the road and unable to play online at the remaining US friendly sites, I can use my SmartPhone.

The game that I play the most is Omaha 8, which means that the high hand and the low hand might both share the pot. Even though this is for play chips, I am still playing as though the chips were real money. FTP allows me a starting chip count of 1,000 which I can reload up to the 1,000 as often as I need to. Thus far, I have been able to build up my play chips from 1,000 to 63,015.

Could I do as well with real money. Probably not. I am not really sure. Losing a thousand with play chips might not bother me psychologically as real cash might. It might be harder to play if you fear losing real cash versus play chips.

With the current state of online poker and the fact that the DOJ might close down any of the remaining sites that I play on, keeps me from wanting to deposit or have on hand more than $250 at any one site. A $250 bankroll on a site allows me to safely play .02/.05 to .05/.10 games. Thus trying to win thousands that I might not ever be able to withdraw or have at this time seems a little silly to me.

Are you playing online poker? Do you use the play money option? If yes, do you treat play money the same as real?

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

