Winning a Railbirds ranking tourney on LuvinPoker.com

Poker chips (300 pieces, 2 decks of cards)

Image via Wikipedia

Before Black Friday, which was when the DOJ shut off access to PokerStars.com, FullTiltPoker.com and UB.com, I used to play micro stakes cash games like No Limit Holdem or Pot Limit Ohama, etc.

Some of the time that I played in events sponsored by the Twitter Poker Tour (no longer active, sadly) or by RailBirds.com.

The good news for me is that RailBirds.com found a poker site that was still accepting US players, LuvinPoker.com. While making deposits is somewhat difficult for me, I joined so that I could still play poker with some of my RailBird friends.

Over the last six years I have played in probably a hundred events involving the Railbirds. I have cashed in a few, meaning that I won some money back but I had never won first place in a Railbird ranking event. A ranking event is one that Railbirds.com run and keeps score of each of the top scorers in the event. At the end of the month, the top ranking player is announced and sometimes a prize is given as well.

Well I have finally done it. I have come in first place in a Railbirds.com ranking event.

I attribrute the win as the result of making good decisions. And I attribute the good decisions to a poker book I am currently reading,“Decide to Play Great Poker”, written by Annie Duke and John Vorhaus. I am only a third of the way into the book, but it was enough to get me on the right track. When I have completed the book (which was an Anniversary gift from my wife, Diane), I intent to review it.

Do you decide to play great poker?  How did that work out for you? Is it hard to stick to a plan?

One thought on “Winning a Railbirds ranking tourney on LuvinPoker.com

  1. Pingback: P for Poker « Afterthoughts

Leave a Reply

