Moving forward …

Original Winnie the Pooh stuffed toys. Clockwi...

Original Winnie the Pooh stuffed toys. Clockwise from bottom left: Tigger, Kanga, Edward Bear (aka Winnie-the-Pooh), Eeyore, and Piglet. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am AMAZING

I am currently battling through a stage of mild depression.

Yes, I have mentioned it to my doctor and yes I have told my significant other.

There are many reasons for going through this stage, some emotional and some physical.

The depression is mild. Like, ho hum, nice day Pooh, oh dear, bread and beer, why bother, etc. Not earth shaking, not traumatizing.

Depression is normal I learned. After all, every day or every hour or every moment in life is not electrifying, exciting, rewarding, or uplifting. There are down moments in everyone’s life.

Constant mild depression is not so normal and that is what I feel I have. I tend to give out subtle clues but I rarely talk about it or want to. I am slightly more quiet than usual. I like talking with people, so when I shut down, that is not my normal self. I have not read a book for the last four months (we do listen to audio books but that is not the same thing as it is a group activity. Diane and I listen together).

One exception, I have read our niece’s (Catherine W. McKinney) brilliant book “MacCool and the Woman” twice so far.

However, as a rule, I tend to avoid confrontations, such as giving political or religious opinions, and believe me, I do have them.

I recently posted here and on MomPopPow that I am in danger of losing my voice, both physical and virtual (blogging) and now need to do something about it.

I figure that reading aloud will help my physical voice. My virtual voice is now being engaged as well. Hence, I am writing this blog.

Diane has dozens, no hundreds, wait, thousands of ideas for me. Her brain spins and twerlls, just like the dragon eyes from Anne McCaffrey’s “DragonRiders of Pern” series. Not all of the ideas fit my personality (or depressed state), but some of them do resonate.

Recently, our son Chris was visiting with his daughter Violette, and he asked Diane, “how does my brain work”? I didn’t think much about the comment until Diane mentioned it again.

I am not sure how my brain works? I give out the reason for my dark hair and white beard, is that my brain does not overheat, thus does not whiten my hair. No smoke from the chimney type of thing. Yet, I tend to be a problem solver.

I tend to look at processes, or life, or challenges differently. I have always been a great high-tech trouble shooter at most of the high-tech jobs I have been employed as either as a programmer. a systems analyst or systems engineer.

Yet, I never have used these skills to bear on my own personal challenges. Now that I admit to having a personnel problem, albeit, depression, I will engage myself to overcome or at least minimize the effects to me and my lifestyle.

Stay tuned!

Mom Pop Pow! Where you can do it if you try!

Original Winnie the Pooh stuffed toys. Clockwi...

Original Winnie the Pooh stuffed toys. Clockwise from bottom left: Tigger, Kanga, Edward Bear (aka Winnie-the-Pooh), Eeyore, and Piglet. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Original Winnie the Pooh stuffed toys. Clockwise from bottom left: Tigger, Kanga, Edward Bear (aka Winnie-the-Pooh), Eeyore, and Piglet. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am AMAZING

I am currently battling through a stage of mild depression.

Yes, I have mentioned it to my doctor and yes I have told my significant other.

There are many reasons for going through this stage, some emotional and some physical.The depression is mild. Like, ho hum, nice day Pooh, oh dear, bread and beer, why bother, etc. Not earth shaking, not traumatizing.

Depression is normal I learned. After all, every day or every hour or every moment in life is not electrifying, exciting, rewarding, or uplifting. There are down moments in everyone’s life.

Constant mild depression is not so normal and that is what I feel I have. I tend to give out subtle clues but I rarely talk about it or want to. I am slightly more quiet than usual. I like talking with people, so when I shut down, that is not my normal self. I have not read a book for the last four months (we do listen to audio books but that is not the same thing as it is a group activity. Diane and I listen together).

One exception, I have read our niece’s (Catherine W. McKinney) brilliant book “MacCool and the Woman” twice so far.

However, as a rule, I tend to avoid confrontations, such as giving political or religious opinions, and believe me, I do have them.

I recently posted here and on DadsPokerBlog that I am in danger of losing my voice, both physical and virtual (blogging) and now need to do something about it.I figure that reading aloud will help my physical voice. My virtual voice is now being engaged as well. Hence, I am writing this blog.

Diane has dozens, no hundreds, wait, thousands of ideas for me. Her brain spins and twerlls, just like the dragon eyes from Anne McCaffrey’s “DragonRiders of Pern” series. Not all of the ideas fit my personality (or depressed state), but some of them do resonate.

Recently, our son Chris was visiting with his daughter Violette, and he asked Diane, “how does my brain work”? I didn’t think much about the comment until Diane mentioned it again.

I am not sure how my brain works? I give out the reason for my dark hair and white beard, is that my brain does not overheat, thus does not whiten my hair. No smoke from the chimney type of thing. Yet, I tend to be a problem solver.

I tend to look at processes, or life, or challenges differently. I have always been a great high-tech trouble shooter at most of the high-tech jobs I have been employed as either as a programmer. a systems analyst or systems engineer.

Yet, I never have used these skills to bear on my own personal challenges. Now that I admit to having a personnel problem, albeit, depression, I will engage myself to overcome or at least minimize the effects to me and my lifestyle.

Stay tuned! More on poker and poker dealing and life.

You are AMAZING too!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

